Trooppisen lumoava Hainan

Kiinan eteläisimmässä kärjessä sijaitseva Hainan on Kiinan suurin trooppinen saari, joka houkuttelee matkailijoita upeilla rannoillaan, miellyttävällä ilmastollaan ja lomanviettomahdollisuuksillaan. Suomalaiset matkailijat ovat päässeet Hainaniin viisumivapaasti tämän vuoden toukokuusta lähtien.

Hainanin saaren matkailun kehittäminen nousi Kiinan kansalliseen strategiaan vuonna 2009. Alle kymmenessä vuodessa Hainanista on kehittynyt merkittävä matkailukohde niin kotimaisille kuin ulkomaisille matkailijoille.

Hainanissa yhdistyvät kiinalaiset perinteet ja modernit lomanviettomahdollisuudet. Saari on sekä kiinalaisten että kansainvälisten turistien suosiossa.

MONIPUOLISET MAHDOLLISUUDET. Panostukset Hainanin saaren kehittämiseksi jatkuvat. Huhtikuussa Hainanille myönnettiin kansallinen tuki, jonka avulla Hainanista kehitetään vapaakaupan pilottialue Kiinassa. Yhdeksi kärkihankkeeksi nostettiin Kiinan vapaakauppasatamien perustaminen Hainaniin, mikä on merkittävää myös saaren matkailun ja erityisesti risteilymatkailun kehittämisen kannalta.

Trooppisen Hainanin matkailutarjonta on jo tällä hetkellä monipuolinen ja kansainvälisesti arvioiden jopa ainutlaatuinen. Hainan kehittää aktiivisesti tarjontaansa monilla eri matkailun osa-alueilla kuten terveys ja hyvinvointi, meri, kulttuuri ja urheilu, maaseutu- ja kokousmatkailu, ekologinen metsämatkailu sekä korkean teknologian matkailu.

Saarella on muun muassa 73 golfkenttää, kansainvälinen lääketieteellisen matkailun pilottialue ja avaruusmatkailukeskus. Hainan on myös ylellinen häämatkakohde.

Valkohiekkaisia rantoja riittää silmän kantamattomiin. Ne tarjoavat erilaisia aktiviteetteja varjoliidosta sukellusveneretkiin.

ARJEN YLÄPUOLELLE. Suomalaiset voivat matkustaa Hainaniin esimerkiksi Lontoon tai Hong Kongin kautta. Lentomatka Hong Kongista Hainaniin kestää noin tunnin. Tietyin ehdoin matkaan ei tarvita edes viisumia.

– Enimmillään 30 vuorokautta kestävän matkan voi tehdä ilman viisumia, mikäli rekisteröityy jonkun Hainanissa toimivan matkatoimiston kautta , kertoo Hainanin matkailukomitean johtaja Sun Ying.

– Pyrimme kehittämään matkailuinfrastruktuuriamme siten, että se palvelee entistäkin paremmin myös kaikkein vaativimpia kansainvälisiä matkailijoita, Sun kertoo.

Kaiken kaikkiaan Hainanissa operoi tällä hetkellä 61 hotelliketjua, joilla on 157 vähintään neljän tähden hotellia.Tunnetuimmat matkailukohteet Hainanilla ovat Sanya Bay,  Sanyan Yalong Bay, Haitang Bay, Shimei Bay, Bo’ao Bay, Moon Bay ja Haikou Bay.

Hainanissa on runsaasti kansainvälisten ketjujen huippohotelleja ja lomakeitaita.

MAALLA, MERELLÄ JA ILMASSA. Saaren lukuisat kohteet tarjoavat mahdollisuuden tutustua villiin luontoon ja mystisiin sademetsiin monin eri tavoin. Tiheän metsän keskellä matkailija voi yöpyä esimerkiksi puihin rakennetuissa majoissa. Joissain kohteissa sademetsien siimekseen on rakennettu jopa leirintäalueita, joihin pääsee ajamaan matkailuautolla.

Sademetsien vastapainona Hainanissa pääsee kokemaan runsain määrin myös merellesiä aktiviteetteja kuten sukellusretkiä, purjehdusta, varjoliitoa ja surfausta. Tai miksipä et tutustuisi meren elämään ikkunoin varustetusta sukellusveneestä käsin?

Jälleen uuden näkökulman saaren rikkaaseen luontoon saat lintuperspektiivistä. Eri yritykset järjestävät sekä kuumailmapallo-, helikopteri- ja vesitasolennätyksiä Hainanin yllä.

– Vaikka Hainan on kiinalaisten keskuudessa suosituin lomakohde, se ei kuulu ainoastaan Kiinalle vaan koko maailmalle, tiivistää matkailukomitean johtaja Sun Ying.

FAKTAA

Kaikista Kiinan maakunnista Hainanilla on vähiten maapinta-alaa mutta eniten merta, peräti 2,2 milj. km².

45 golfkeskusta ja 74 kenttää

Saaren ympäri kiertävä suurnipeusjuna

Maailman suurin verovapaa ostoskeskus

(Kuvat: Visit Hainan)

Share This:

ALKOHOLIKILPAILUT JA JOURNALISMIN VASTUU

Erilaisia alkoholikilpailuja alkaa olla jo sellainen määrä, ettei edes alkoholialaa läheltä seuraavat ammattilaiset tahdo pysyä niiden perässä. Vielä vähemmän kuluttajalla on mahdollisuuksia päästä selville siitä, mitä milloinkin palkitaan ja millä perusteilla. Juuri siksi journalismin vastuu kasvaa entisestään.

TORNION PANIMON Original Lapland Lagerin viime toukokuussa saama Monde Selection -laatupalkinto on hyvä esimerkki siitä, että edes alkoholijuomista kirjoittavat toimittajat eivät aina jaksa tehdä kotiläksyjään. Uutinen kultamitalista meni sellaisenaan läpi muun muassa Ylen uutisissa, useissa päivälehdissä ja jopa alkoholialan erikoislehdissä kuten Shakerissa ja Olutpostissa (omia työnantajiani molemmat) sekä Viisi Tähteä -verkkomediassa.

Todellisuudessa Monde Selection ei ole kilpailu laisinkaan vaan eräänlainen laadunvalvontajärjestelmä, joka arvioi tuotteet ja palkitsee niitä neliportaisella asteikolla: Bronze, Silver, Gold ja Grand Gold, josta siis Original Lager saavutti toiseksi ylimmän tason. Tästä voidaan päätellä, että olut oli testitilanteessa mikrobiologisesti kunnossa ja hyvä tyylinsä edustaja, mutta sen pidemmälle vieviin johtopäätöksiin ei ole syytä mennä.

Kuitenkin Monde Selection -tunnustuksesta uutisoitiin täysin kritiikittömästi miltei kuin kyseessä olisi ollut 54 vuotta odotettu ja kauan kaivattu olympialaisten kultamitali. Rivien välistä annettiin ymmärtää, että kyse oli jostain todella suuresta ja että nyt pantiin Suomi kertaheitolla maailmankartalle.

Anteeksi, tarkoitan tietenkin takaisin maailmankartalle, koska olihan alkuperäinen Lapin Kulta ”voittanut” saman ”kultamitalin” jo kerran eli vuonna 1964.

MONIA MUITAKIN esimerkkejä löytyy, kuten vaikkapa viime syksynä järjestetty Vodka Masters -kilpailu, jossa Koskenkorva ja Gustav -vodkat kahmivat mitaleja – ja mediaa taas vietiin kuin pässiä narussa.

Sama toistuu vuosittain syys-lokakuun vaihteessa, seuratkaapa vaan lehtiä.

Ja ikävä kyllä, miltei jokaiselta kirjoittajalta unohtuu jutun yhteydessä mainita, että käytännössä jokainen kilpailuun ilmoittautunut tuote saa palkinnoksi jonkinlaisen mitalin.

Toinen paljon palstatilaa saanut esimerkki on World Spirit Awards -kilpailu viime maaliskuussa, jonka jälkeen uutisoitiin laajasti, että Nordic Premium Beveragesin Arctic Blue Gin on valittu maailman parhaaksi giniksi. Etenkin Iltalehdellä mopo lähti totaalisesti käsistä, kun se otsikoi suomalaisen ginin voittaneen maailmanmestaruuskisoissa tuplakultaa.

Niinhän asia ei tietenkään ollut, eikä millään kilpailulla ole MM-arvoa huolimatta siitä, kuinka ylevästi järjestäjät kilpailujansa nimeävätkään.

Täysin toisenlaisen kuvan tästäkin, sinänsä hyvän tisleen, menestystarinasta saa, kun avataan koko palkintokaappi.

World Spirit Awards 2018 -kilpailussa oli mukana kaikkiaan 485 tuotetta, joille jaettiin yhteensä 508 mitalia. Vain viisi mukaan ilmoitettua tuotetta jäi palkintosijojen ulkopuolelle ja vähintään hopeamitaliin ylsi 472 tislettä. Mitaleiden lisäksi eri tislaamoille jaettiin vielä 33 muuta prenikkaa.

KUN OTIN Arctic Blue Ginin tapauksen puheeksi facebook-keskustelussa, tuota pikaa eräs tislaamon edustaja kyseli minulta, eikö ole kuitenkin tärkeintä, että kotimaisten juomien hyvästä kilpailumenestyksestä kerrotaan.

Ei, ei se ole tärkeintä ainakaan journalismin kannalta. Piste.

Peräänkuulutan siis kaikkia alkoholijuomista kirjoittavia kollegoitani tuntemaan vastuunsa lukijoitaan kohtaan ennen kuin asetutaan lehdistötiedotteiden vietäviksi. Muistakaa, että mitään oluiden tai vodkien maailmanmestaruuskilpailuja, olympialaisia saati Oscareita ei ole, vaikka mainosmiehet kuiskuttelisivat mitä ikinä.

Sitäpaitsi tiedotteiden kyseenalaistamisen ja terveen lähdekritiikin luulisi olevan meille journalisteille ihan jokapäiväistä peruskauraa.

Share This:

Eleganssia ja huumorin kukkaa – Viinien lahjapakkauksissa näkyy ajan henki

Tämän vuoden jouluviinien lahjapakkauksissa on talvista tunnelmaa, tähtisumua, mustaa eleganssia ja klassista tyylikkyyttä sekä rumuuden hauskuutta.

Monet tutut klassikot kuten MUMM Gordon Rouge Brut, Wolfberger Crémant D’Alsace Brut ja Laroche Petite Chablis, vain muutamia mainitakseni, on puettu joulun kunniaksi uusiin kääreisiin. Kuusen alla nämä värimaailmaltaan ja ulkoasultaan juhlavat pakkaukset korostavat entisestään vuoden tärkeimmän juhlapäivän arvokkuutta.

Toisesta ääripäästä löytyvät kylmät talvimaisemat ja leikkisät joulukuosit. Rohkeimmat kausiöverit iskee pöytään rumista villapaidoista innoituksensa saanut glögimäinen The Ugly Glühwein.

SAMPPANJA kruunaa juhlan kuin juhlan, se toimii varpajaisista hautajaisiin ja kalenteripyhät siinä välissä. MUMM Gordon Rouge Brut (39,98 €) on kuluttajalle helposti lähestyttävä perussamppanja; tasapainoinen ja raikkaan hedelmäinen. Porche Design Studion kanssa suunniteltu kiiltävän hopeinen lahjapakkaus hurmaa linjakkuudellaan ja jouluisella värimaailmallaan.

Toinen mainio vaihtoehto laadukkaaksi kuohuviinilahjaksi on Wolfberger Crémant D’Alsace Brut (14,38 €). Kuiva, hedelmäinen ja raikkaan hapokas juoma, jonka hinta-laatusuhde hakee vertaistaan. Lahjapakkauksessa trendikäästä musta-kultayhdistelmästä rakentuu viinipullo, josta kuplat nousevat tähtinä taivaalle.

VALKOVIINEISTÄ Laroche Petit Chablis (18,98 €) sopii mainiosti jouluaterian aperitiiviksi tai kalaruokien seuraan. Myös tässä lahjapakkauksessa toistuu vuoden trendikkäin mustan ja kullan yhdistelmä, joka jatkuu lisäksi ikkunan kautta pullon etiketissä.

Chablis-alueen Kimmeridge-maaperä tuottaa maailman hienointa valkoviiniä. Laroche-viinitalo on perustettu Chablis’n kylän sydämessä sijaitsevan l’Opédiencerie-nimisen luostarin paikalle, jonka munkit valmistivat viiniä jo 1100 vuotta sitten. Vuonna 2014 Domain Laroche palkittiin IWSC-kilpailussa parhaana ranskalaisena viinintuottajana.

Laroche Petit Chablis on maultaan kuiva ja raikas, kukkainen ja sopivan hapokas. Siinä on aistittavissa limettiä, viheromenaa, yrttisyyttä sekä mineraalisuutta.

PUNAVIINEISSÄ on valinnanvaraa sekä rypäleissä että lahjapakkauksissa. Erinomainen valinta hyvän viinin ystävälle on esimerkiksi viileän ilmaston chileläinen Leyda Single Vineyard Las Brisas Pinot Noir (14,90 €), joka sai täydet viisi tähteä Viinistä viiniin -kirjassa. Viini on käynyt terästankeissa, minkä jälkeen sitä on kypsytetty vielä 10 kuukautta ranskalaisessa tammessa.

Lahjapakkauksessa pullosta muodostuu tähdin, lumihiutalein ja palloin korosteltu joulukuusi, minkä kätköissä keskitäyteläinen ja kypsän marjaisa viini odottaa pääsyään joulupöytään.

QP Organic (15,49 €) on täyteläinen ja tumman marjaisa Tempranillo-rypäleestä valmistettu moderni Rioja-luomuviini. Tumma ja mehevä marjaisuus kestää tuoksusta pitkään jälkimakuun. Viini on upea kumppani täyteläisille liharuoille tai robusteille pataruoille. Musta-kultaisessa lahjapakkauksessa on tähtiä, joulupalloja ja lentäviä poroja. Merry Christmas -teksti korostaa viinin joululahjapotentiaalia.

Viña San Pedron viinitalon perustamisvuotta ja yli 150-vuotista historiaa kunnioittavan 1865 Single Vineyard -sarjan Cabernet Sauvignon (16,88 €) tulee aurinkoisesta Maipon laaksosta. Täyteläisessä ja runsaan hedelmäisessä viinissä on silkkiset tanniinit, ja sitä voi suositella esimerkiksi juhlapöydän riistalle ja pitkään kypsyneille juustoille.

Tämä Decanter-lehdessäkin ”Highly recommended” -maininnan saanut viini on pakattu arvonsa mukaisesti näyttävään laatikkoon, jota koristaa juhlava punainen nauha.

Riojalainen Barón de Ley Reserva (16,98 €) on niin ikään saanut ansaittua huomiota Decanter-lehdeltä, joka valitsi sen parhaaksi riojalaiseksi vuonna 2015. Syvän rubiininpunainen, keskitäyteläinen ja runsas viini on valmistettu valikoiduista vuonna 1985 istutetuista Mendavian tarhan Tempranillo-rypäleistä ja sen on annettu kypsyä amerikkalaisissa tammitynnyreissä 20 kuukauden ajan sekä vielä pulloissa kaksi vuotta ennen myyntiä.

Lahjapakkaus on kuin viini itse: moderni ja samalla perinteitä kunnioittava. Lahjalaatikon kyljessä pohjoinen talvimaisema loistaa kirkkaan tähtitaivaan alla.

MAKEA JA GLÖGIMÄINEN The Ugly Glühwein (10,98 €) on tarttunut viime vuosina räjähdysmäisesti yleistyneeseen ruma villapaita -ilmiöön. Kuusen alla pullo kaikessa rumuudessaan vangitsee katseen ja herättää varmasti keskustelua.

The Ugly Glühwein istuu jouluun kuin mummo lumihankeen, se on mitä virkistävin vaihtoehto perinteiselle glögijuomalle ja erinomainen osoitus siitä, että rumassakin pullossa voi olla hyvä viini.

Share This:

JALOVIINA TÄYTTÄÄ 85 VUOTTA

HUHTIKUUN 5. PÄIVÄNÄ kello 10:00 tuli kuluneeksi tasan 85 vuotta kieltolain päättymisestä Suomessa. Päättymisajankohtaa kuvaa monissa yhteyksissä nähty numerosarja 543210 eli 5.4.32 klo 10.

Lähes yhtä kauan on kulunut siitä, kun konjakista ja viinasta valmistettu Jaloviina tuli ensi kertaa myyntiin. Se lanseerattiin lokakuussa 1932 ja on yksi Suomen alkoholihistorian vanhimpia tuotteita.

Jaloviina on ainoa yhä myynnissä oleva suomalainen väkevä alkoholijuoma, joka on pysynyt yhtäjaksoisesti markkinoilla kieltolain päättymisvuodesta lähtien.

Jaloviinan esikuvana oli Ruotsissa myynnissä ollut Elämänvesi, Eau de vie -niminen juoma, jolla oli Jaloviinallekin tyypillinen tähtiluokitus sekoituksen sisältämän konjakkimäärän mukaan.

Ensimmäisenä myyntiin tuli Jaloviina Extra. Joulukuussa 1932 päästiin korkkaamaan myös yhden, kahden ja kolmen tähden Jaloviinat. Siitä lähtien Jaloviina on ollut osa pohjoisen kansan sielunmaisemaa.

Uusi jalojuoma lämmitti pohjoisen kansan mieltä. Eräänä lokakuisena aamuna vuonna 1932 Oy Alkoholiliike Ab:n ovien taakse oli kerääntynyt jonoa. Ovien avauduttua ensimmäiset miehet astuivat sisään ja loivat hartaan katseen hyllylle – siinä sitä nyt oli!

JALOVIINA ON TIETTÄVÄSTI ainoa alkoholijuoma, jota Suomen valtio on tarjonnut ilmaiseksi kansalaisilleen. Tämä tapahtui 4. kesäkuuta 1942, jolloin puolustusvoimat tarjosi sitä rintamamiehille juhlistaakseen ylipäällikkö marsalkka C. G. Mannerheimin 75-vuotispäivää.

Sota-aikana saatavilla ollut juoma oli nollan tähden Jaloviinaa, ja siinä oli konjakkia vain nimeksi ja väriksi. Kansan suussa tähdetön Jaloviina sai kutsumanimen Vääpeli.

Sota-aikana konjakin sääntely johti siihen, että myyntiin tuli nollan tähden Jaloviina, jossa konjakkia oli vain väriksi. Sotavuodet myös verottivat jaloa veljessarjaa: Kahden tähden Jaloviina katosi valikoimista vuonna 1942.

Sotien jälkeisinä jälleenrakennuksen vuosina Jaloviinan kulutus kasvoi, kunnes 1960-luvulla sen suosio alkoi hiipua lähteäkseen taas uuteen nousuun 1990-luvun lopulla.

Kieltolain päättymisen ja Jaloviinan synnyn 85-vuotisjuhlan kunniaksi Altia Oy rekonstruoi nollan tähden Jaloviinan ja valmisti sitä ainoastaan yhden puolen litran pullon. Olin yksi niistä onnekkaista, jotka pääsivät maistamaan tästä juhlapullosta 5.4.2017 klo 10.

Makuprofiililtaan tämä reseptiarkistojen kätköistä herätetty Vääpeli oli puhdas ja tiukka kuin neitsyen sielu.

NIMIKILPAILUN SATOA. Toukokuussa 1932 Oy Alkoholiliike Ab:n henkilökunnalle avattiin kilpailu, jonka tarkoituksena oli löytää suomalainen nimi niin sanotulle leikatulle konjakille. Kilpailussa jaettiin parhaille ehdotuksille kolme rahapalkintoa määriltään 200, 100 ja 50 markkaa.

Ehdotuksia uutuusjuoman nimeksi tuli kaikkiaan 72 kappaletta. Voittajaksi nousi tarkkailuosastolla työskennelleen tohtorinna Hildénin ehdotus Jaloviina. Seuraaville sijoille ylsivät nimiehdotukset Monopoli ja Ponjakki.

Palkintosijojen ulkopuolelle jääneet nimiehdotukset olivat aakkosjärjestyksessä:

A.L., Alkon-seos, Aroma, Brandy, Eloneste, Eri konjake, Herkku, Isä, Isän oma pöytä, Jakki, Jakko, Jalo, Jalojuoma, Juhla, K.S.V., Kansa, Karhukonjakki, Kerhoseos, Kiva, Kiwa, Koja, Koli K, Konjake, Konjake de Napander, Konjakki Suomi, Konjakkileike, Konjakkiviina (kahdesti), Konjaste, Konjike, Konneste, Konves-viina, Kultaviina, Leijonakonjakki, Leikekonjakki, Leikko, Leikkuri, Leikonjakki, Lingo konjakkia, Maku, Matti, Mesi, Nektar, Otso, Paavo, Presidentti, Puhti, Puolikonjakki, Ranskanviina, Reima, Ruutu-konjakki, Rypäleviinaa/Druvbrännvin, Saimaa, Sini-Tähti konjakki, Sini-Valko konjakki, Sisu, Spriikonjakki, Suomi, Suomi konjaketta, Suomi konjakki, Surunsurma, Tarina vettä, Teräskonjakki, Tähti, Valtti konjakki, Vapaus, Viinakonjakki, Viikonvesi ja Väkiviina.

Jaloviinan jäljittelemätön maku on viipynyt suomalaisten huulilla saunan kuistilla, nuotion ääressä, illanistujaisissa ja kapakoiden kulmapöydissä vuodesta toiseen.

VUOSIKYMMENTEN VIERIESSÄ Jaloviinasta on tullut väkevä suomalaisten tuntojen tulkki. Se on esiintynyt niin kirjoissa, elokuvissa kuin lukuisten artistien kappaleissakin. Erään tarinan mukaan Toivo Kärjen säveltämä, Reino Helismaan sanoittama ja Tapio Rautavaaran esittämä surumielinen valssi Kulkurin iltatähti kertoo Jaloviina-pullon yksinäisestä tähdestä.

Viime vuosien aikana tuoteperhettä on määrätietoisesti kasvatettu. Tällä hetkellä myynnissä on seitsemää eri Jaloviina-tuotetta: Yhden ja kolmen tähden Jaloviinojen lisäksi katalogista löytyvät Jalokahvi-likööri sekä Jaloviinan versiot Extra (vuosikerta), Kaski, Myrsky ja Tammi.

Jaloviina Tammi on virallinen Suomi Finland 100 -juhlavuoden tuote. Sen, samoin kuin muidenkin Jaloviina-versioiden ystävät ovat aina voineet luottaa siihen, että korkin rusahdettua auki ilmoille nousee tuttu ja omaleimainen tuoksu.

Share This:

KOHTEENA HILTON HELSINKI STRAND

HELSINGIN SILTASAARESSA sijaitsevan Hilton Strandin juuret ulottuvat marraskuuhun 1988, jolloin Wärtsilän rakennuttama ja Finnairin operoima hotelli Strand-Intercontinental aloitti toimintansa. Hotellirakennuksen suunnitteli hollantilainen arkkitehti Martiinus Schuurman ja sisustuksesta vastasi sisustusarkkitehti Arto Kukkasniemi.

Strandilla on historiansa aikana ollut useita omistajia. Vuonna 1996 se siirtyi Alkon tytäryhtiölle Arctialle ja vuotta myöhemmin ruotsalaiselle Scandicille. Huhtikuussa 2001 brittiläinen Hilton International teki Scandicista noin 972 miljoonan euron ostotarjouksen. Kauppa hyväksyttiin ja Scandicin 133 hotellia siirtyivät brittiläisomistukseen.

Tammikuussa 2003 Strandista tuli Suomen ensimmäinen Hilton-hotelli. Sitä seurasivat Kalastajatorppa Helsingin Munkkiniemessä ja Plaza Turussa.

Lähes 30-vuotisen historiansa aikana Hilton Helsinki Strand on vaihtanut usein omistajaa mutta säilyttänyt korkean tasonsa ja asemansa yhtenä Helsingin arvostetuimmista hotelleista.

Vuonna 2007 Scandic vaihtoi jälleen omistajaa Hiltonin myytyä yhtiön pääomarahasto EQT V:lle 833 miljoonan euron kauppahintaan. Suomen Hilton-hotellit toimivat nykyään franchising-sopimuksella Scandicin operoimina.

Tällä hetkellä Hiltonilla on kolme hotellia Suomessa: Strand ja Kalastajatorppa Helsingissä sekä vuonna 2007 avattu lentokenttähotelli Hilton Airport Vantaalla.

VUOSIEN VARRELLA STRAND on saanut monia kansainvälisiä tunnustuksia. Vuonna 1990 Strand-Intercontinental valittiin Business Traveller -lehden lukijaäänestyksessä maailman parhaaksi uudeksi hotelliksi. World Travel Awardseissa se on valittu viidesti Suomen parhaimmaksi hotelliksi (Finland’s Leading Hotel 2004, 2005, 2013, 2014 ja 2016).

World Travel Award -palkintoa pidetään alan korkeimpana saavutuksena ja sitä kutsutaankin matkailualan Oscariksi. Palkintojen saajat valitsevat vuosittain riippumattomat matkailualan ammattilaiset.

Suurimmasta osasta huoneita avautuu näkymä joko merelle tai Töölönlahteen johtavalle kanaalille. Vuoteet ovat muhkeita ja ikkunat isoja.

UUDISTUS VANHAA KUNNIOITTAEN. Vuonna 2015 Hilton Helsinki Strand uusittiin perusteellisesti. Entistä ehomman hotellin avajaisia päästiin viettämään 21. tammikuuta 2016. Hotellin uuden sisustuksen on laatinut etelä-afrikkalaissyntyinen Bronwynn Welsh. Uudistusta inspiroivat viisi elementtiä: kivi, vesi, puu, kupari ja tuli.

Uudistuksessa yhdisteltiin uusinta designia ja vintageyksityiskohtia. Esimerkiksi monet hotellin kokoelmissa säilyneet Oiva Toikan linnut ja uniikit lasiteokset pääsivät osaksi modernia pohjoismaista tilasuunnittelua. Osa Heikki Orvolan suunnittelemista Festivo-posliiniastioista on edelleen käytössä yhdessä alkuperäisten ruokailuvälineiden kanssa.

Monet Oiva Toikan uniikit lasiteokset ovat saaneet uuden elämän hotellin uudistuksen myötä. Tässä valaistu lasiveistos rytmittää kokouskerrokseen johtavaa porraskäytävää.

Uuteen Strandiin avattiin myös tunnelmallinen ravintola Bro ja Hakaniemen ensimmäinen cocktail-baari.

Ravintola Bro yhdistelee kauden parhaita raaka-aineita mielenkiintoisiksi makupareiksi. Luonto on vahvasti esillä sekä ravintolan sisustuksessa että laseissa ja lautasilla. Cocktail-baarin siirapit ja pyreet tehdään paikan päällä, vuodenaikojen annetaan loistaa.

STRANDIN BRUNSSI (28 €) on tarjolla sunnuntaisin klo 12–15. Pöytään katetaan mm. lohichevicea, katkarapusalaattia, kokonaisena paistettua suomalaista broileria, erilaisia paahdettuja ja marinoituja kasviksia sekä suussa sulavia jälkiruokia kuten juustokakkua ja suklaamoussea. Paikalla on myös kokki leikkaamassa ja tarjoilemassa vaihtuvaa lihatuotetta.

Brunssimenu uudistuu kuuden viikon välein. Hilton Strandin filosofiaan kuuluu, että parhaat elämykset kumpuavat puhtaasta luonnosta.

Annokset valmistetaan aina parhaista raaka-aineista puhtaita makuja yhdistellen. Aamiainen sekä brunssi on runsas. Kuvassa aamiaisella tilauksesta valmistettava Pancakes vaniljajäätelön ja mansikoiden kera.

HOTELLIN 190 HUONEESTA peräti 114 tarjoaa näkymän merelle tai kanaaliin Kruununhaan ja Kaisaniemen suuntaan. Ikkunat avautuvat ja ovat poikkeuksellisen suuret. Maisema nivoutuu osaksi huoneiden skandinaavista värimaailmaa.

Huoneet ovat kooltaan 30–85 neliömetriä.

Eräs Strandin elämyksellisistä huippukohdista on ylimmän kerroksen saunaosasto uima-altaineen ja aurinkoterasseineen. Näkymä hotellin kattokerroksesta on yksi Helsingin kauneimpia.

Saunaosaston uima-allas henkii menneiden vuosikymmenten ylellisyysajattelua tuotuna tähän päivään. Altaalta ja kattoterassilta avautuu merellinen panoraamanäkymä.
Hilton Helsinki Strand
John Stenbergin ranta 4
00530 HELSINKI
http://www.hiltonhotels.com/fi_FI/suomi/hilton-helsinki-strand/

Share This:

LONDON TUBE STATIONS 7, U-W

”Dear passengers, my name is Francis. I am your travel guide to the roots of the London Underground and to the origins of the names of all stations currently in use. This is the final stage of our incredible journey, after which we have seen all 270 Underground stations! Here are the stations from Upminster to Woodside Park.

UPMINSTER

Upminster

Upminster was recorded as Upmynstre in 1062 and the name is derived from mynster, which refers to a church served by several clergy, rather than to a monastery. The prefix up means ’higher ground’, although the town does not rise much above sixty feet. Upminster means – ’the church on high land’. The name of this area was originally Chafford, a corruption of St Chad’s Ford and tradition asks us to believe that the brothers St Chad and St Cedd used it as one of their preaching centres when brought Christianity to Essex in c. 670.

The station was opened as Upminster by the London, Tilbury & Southend Railway on 1 May 1885 and first used by Underground trains on 2 June 1902.

UPMINSTER BRIDGE

Upminster-Bridge

See Upminster. To the right of the station, under the railway bridge and near the ’Bridge House’ pub, there is a small iron road bridge, marked Upminster Bridge. Tradition has it that the Romans built a ford here over the River Ingrebourne during Caesar’s invasion of England. It seems that in c. 1300 a wooden bridge was built to replace the ford. The present bridge was erected by Essex County Council in 1891.

The station was opened as Upminster Bridge on 17 December 1934.

UPNEY

Upney

Upney simply means the upper-stream and this local natural feature gives the name to this district. Derived from the Old English upp (higher up) and eg (stream).

The station was opened as Upney on 12 September 1932.

UPTON PARK

Upton-Park

Upton is derived from up and the Old English tun, ’a farm’ – and means ’the farm, or homestead on higher ground’ once in a park, and the district is so named.

The station was opened as Upton Park by the London, Tilbury & Southend Railway in 1877 and first used by Underground trains on 2 June 1902.

UXBRIDGE

Uxbridge

Uxbridge was recorded as Oxebruge c. 1145 and the name is derived from a 7th century tribe, the Wixan, who settled here, and in the course of time this has been abbreviated to Ux. The bridge is an ancient one over the river Colne and has variant spellings until recorded as Uxbridge in 1398.

The original station was opened as Uxbridge on 4 July 1904, and was replaced by the present re-sited station on 4 December 1938.

VAUXHALL

Vauxhall

Vauxhall is named from the Norman Falkes de Breuté who obtained the manor of Lambeth by his marriage to the heiress Margaret de Riparus (or Redvers) in c. 1220, the manor being granted to him in 1223. Recorded as Faukeshale in 1279, corrupted to Fox Hall then eventually to Vauxhall.

The Underground station was opened as Vauxhall on 23 July 1971.

VICTORIA

Victoria

Like many other places the station was named in honour of Queen Victoria. The main-line station, opened on 1 October 1860, stands on piles over the basin of the former Grosvenor Canal.

The Underground station was opened as Victoria on 24 December 1868.

WALTHAMSTOW CENTRAL

Walthamstow-Central

Walthamstow Central was recorded as Wilcumestowe c. 1075 and the name may be derived from the Old English wilcume, ’welcome’ and stow, ’a holy place’ – ’the holy place with a welcome’. Alternatively the name may derive from a religious place once founded here by a woman named Wilcume. It was recorded as Walthanstowe in 1446.

The original station was opened as Walthamstow (Hoe Street) by the Great Eastern Railway on 26 April 1870; it was re-named Walthamstow Central on 6 May 1968. Underground trains ran from 1 September 1968.

WANSTEAD

Wanstead

Wanstead was recorded as Waenstede in 1066 and the name is derived from the Old English waen, ’waggon’ and stede, ’place’. It seems that there was once a ford here, where waggons crossed a stream, and ’stede’ usually meant a holy place – therefore Wanstead means ’to the holy place, near the ford crossed by waggons’.

The station was opened as Wanstead on 14 December 1947.

WARREN STREET

Warren-Street

The estate of this area was owned by Charles Fitzrow, created Baron Southampton in 1780, who married Anne, the daughter of Sir Peter Warren. When the street was named in 1799 it was called Warren Street in his honour.

The station was opened as Euston Road on 22 June 1907 and was re-named Warren Street on 7 June 1908.

WARWICK AVENUE

Warrick-Avenue

Many of the streets in the old manor of Paddington are connected with families who leased land from the Bishop of London. The original lessee was Sir John Frederick of Burwood in Surrey. His great-grandson married Jane Warwick of Warwick Hall in Cumberland in 1778 and the street is named in her honour.

Prior to the station’s opening the name was planned to have been Warrington Crescent, but it was opened as Warwick Avenue on 31 January 1915.

WATERLOO

Waterloo

Waterloo was named in commemoration of the Battle of Waterloo (1815). The name was also given to the new bridge over the River Thames (originally called Strand Bridge) which was opened by the Prince Regent on 18 June 1817, the second anniversary of the Battle. The name was adopted for the main-line station opened on 11 July 1848, and later for the locality.

The Waterloo & City Line was built and run by the London & South Western Railway and its station was opened as Waterloo on 8 August 1898. Ownership of the line and stations was transferred to London Underground on 5 April 1994. The Bakerloo Line station was opened as Waterloo on 10 March 1906, followed by the Northern Line station on 13 August 1926.

WATFORD

Watford

Watford was recorded in 944 and the name is derived from the Old English waed, ’place for wading’ or wad, ’hunting’ – and means ’ford which is used for hunters’, from a once nearby natural feature.

The station was opened as Watford on 2 November 1925.

WEMBLEY CENTRAL

Wembley-Central

Wembley Central was recorded as Wemba lea in 825 and the name is derived from the personal name Wemba and the Old English leah, ’forest clearing’ – and means ’the clearing where Wemba lived’. This name may be a nickname or could be taken from Wemba, the name of a Gothic King. It has had various spellings until recorded as Wembley in 1535.

A station called Sudbury was opened by the London & Birmingham Railway in 1842. It was re-named Sudbury & Wembley on 1 May 1882 and Wembley for Sudbury on 16 April 1917; re-named Wembley Central on 5 July 1948.

WEMBLEY PARK

Wembley-Park

See Wembley Central. The Wembley stadium, exhibition and entertainment complex occupies the area of the original park.

The station was opened as Wembley Park on 12 May 1894.

WEST ACTON

West-Acton

See Acton Town.

The station was opened as West Acton on 5 November 1923.

WESTBOURNE PARK

Westbourne-Park

Westbourne Park was recorded as Westburn in 1222 and is derived from the Old English westan and burnam, ’place’ – means ’the place west of the stream’. Paddington was the sister village on the east bank. The road here was an ancient lane winding through the old Westbourne Farm. The Green was recorded in 1680 hence the Park, now a road.

The station was opened as Westbourne Park on 1 February 1866.

WEST BROMPTON

West-Brompton

West Brompton signifies Broom Town with suggestions of a wide common – and means ’the common with the broom trees, near a town’.

Prior to the station’s opening the name Richmond Road was planned, reflecting the name of this part of Old Brompton Road which lasted into the 1920s. It was opened as West Brompton on 12 April 1869.

WEST FINCHLEY

West-Finchley

See Finchley Central.

The station was opened as West Finchley by the London & North Eastern Railway on 1 March 1933 and first used by Underground trains on 14 April 1940.

WEST HAM

West-Ham

West Ham was recorded as Hamme in 958 which signifies that this and East Ham were then only one geographical location and it was not until 1186 that the name Westhamma was recorded. The name is derived from the Old English hamm, ’a water meadow’ – referring to the low-lying riverside meadow near the bend of the Thames. (See also East Ham.)

The station was opened as West Ham by the London, Tilbury & Southend Railway on 1 February 1901 and was first used by Undergound trains on 2 June 1902.

WEST HAMPSTEAD

West-Hampstead

See Hampstead.

The station was opened as West Hampstead on 30 June 1879.

WEST HARROW

West-Harrow

See Harrow-on-the-Hill.

The station was opened as West Harrow on 17 November 1913.

WEST KENSINGTON

West-Kensington

See Kensington (Olympia).

The station was opened as North End (Fulham) on 9 September 1874; re-named West Kensington 1 March 1877.

WESTMINSTER

Westminster

By tradition the site of the Abbey was first known as Torneia (785) and means ’thorn island’, being once a low-lying islet regularly cut off from the mainland at high tide. Recorded as Westminster in 785, the name is derived from west and the Old English mynster, ’monastery’ or ’church’, the west because it lies to the west of London. Westminster Abbey began as a small church attached to a Benedictine monastery, was rebuilt in the eleventh century and completed in 1388. The village of Westminster (a City since 1540) was joined up to London in the 18th century.

The station was opened as Westminster Bridge on 24 December 1868; re-named Westminster in 1907.

WEST RUISLIP

West-Ruislip

See Ruislip.

The adjacent main line station was opened by the Great Western & Great Central Joint Committee on 2 April 1906 as Ruislip & Ickenham. It was re-named West Ruislip on 30 June 1947. In preparation for the opening of the Underground station, the committee of the New Works Programme 1935/40 suggested naming it Ickenham Green. However, delayed by the Second World War, the Underground station was opened as West Ruislip on 21 November 1948.

WHITECHAPEL

Whitechapel

Whitechapel takes its name from the white stone chapel of St Mary Matfelon, first built in 1329, then rebuilt three times, until bombed in 1940 and finally demolished in 1952. Today there is no trace of the church that gave its name to this district.

The station was opened as Whitechapel on 10 April 1876; first used by Underground trains on 1 October 1884.

WHITE CITY

White-City

The sports stadium was opened in 1908 to house part of the Franco-British Exhibition. The strikingly white finish of the buildings, and the exhibits in the main hall (all of which were white), earned the stadium its name.

The Hammersmith & City Line station was opened on 1 May 1908, and the Central Line station on 14 May 1908, both as Wood Lane. The Central Line station was re-sited and both re-named White City 23 November 1947. The Hammersmith & City Line station was closed from 25 October 1959; since 1 November 1914 it had been used only on special occasions.

WILLESDEN GREEN

Willesden-Green

Willesden Green was recorded as Willesdone Grene in 1254 and was formerly a distinct hamlet. Willesden itself was recorded as Willesdune in 939 and is derived from the Old English wiell, ’spring’ and dun, ’hill’, and means – ’hill of the spring’, referring to a once nearby natural location. Willesden was the name adopted c. 1840 by the London & Birmingham Railway from the earlier spelling of Wilsdon.

The station was opened as Willesden Green on 24 November 1879.

WILLESDEN JUNCTION

Willesden-Junction

See Willesden Green. The name has its origin in the railway junction at this point.

The station was opened as Willesden Junction by the London & North West Railway on 1 September 1866 and was first used by Underground trains on 10 May 1915.

WIMBLEDON

Wimbledon-2

Wimbledon was recorded as Wunemannedunne c. 950 and is derived from the personal name of the Saxon Winebeald and down, ’a hill’ – means ’the hill where Winebeald lived’, with his family. It has had various spellings in the course of time until recorded as Wimbledon in 1211.

The original London & Southampton Railway station was opened as Wimbledon on 21 May 1838. The platforms for terminating District Line trains were opened on 3 June 1889.

WIMBLEDON PARK

Wimbledon-Park

See Wimbledon. The Park is to the west of the station.

The station was opened as Wimbledon Park by the London & South Western Railway for the use of their own and District Railway trains on 3 June 1889.

WOODFORD

Woodford

As the name suggests, means ’the ford by a wood’, over the River Roding which runs through the district.

The station was opened as Woodford by the Eastern Counties Railway on 22 August 1856 and first used by Underground trains on 14 December 1947.

WOOD GREEN

Wood-Green

Wood Green was recorded as Wodegrene in 1502 and was once a seperate hamlet on the edge of Enfield Chase. As the name suggests it means ’the wood by the green’.

Prior to the station’s opening the name Lordship Lane was proposed, but it opened as Wood Green on 19 September 1932.

WOOD LANE

Wood-Lane

There have been three stations in the area whit this name, the latest being a new station on the Hammersmith & City Line. The other two were a station on the same line situated across the road from the present one, closer to Shepherd’s Bush, opened 1 May 1908 and closed 25 October 1959 (by which time it had been re-named White City) and a terminal station on the Central London Railway opened 14 May 1908 and closed 23 November 1947 (to be replaced by the Central Line station named White City further to the north). The name Wood Lane came into use here in the first few decades of the 19th century and reflects the fact that this was once situated in London’s countryside. It is one of nine Wood Lanes in Greater London, but with the presence of the BBC Television Centre and the new Underground station, this is undoubtedly the best known of them.

The present Wood Lane station was opened on 13 October 2008.

WOODSIDE PARK

Woodside-Park

Woodside Park was recorded as Fyncheley Wode in 1468 and was part of the great Middlesex woodland area. It was named Woodside in 1686 – being at the side of the wood.

The station was opened as Torrington Park, Woodside by the Great Northern Railway on 1 April 1872. It was re-named Woodside Park on 1 May 1882 and was first used by Underground trains on 14 April 1940.

Share This:

LONDON TUBE STATIONS 6, S-T

”Hi, my name is Francis. I am your travel guide to the roots of the London Underground and to the origins of the names of all stations currently in use. This is the sixth and penultimate stage of our journey. Welcome aboard again! Here are the stations from Saint James’s Park to Turnpike Lane.”

ST JAMES’S PARK

St-James-Park-2

St James’s Park lies on the site of an ancient hospital dedicated to St James the Less, from which it takes its name. It was part of a swamp until, on the orders of Henry VIII in 1532, it was drained to become a bowling green, tilt yard, and breeding ground for deer. John Nash re-designed the park in 1827–29.

The station was opened as St James’s Park on 24 December 1868.

ST JOHN’S WOOD

St-Johns-Wood

St John’s Wood was recorded as Sci Johannis in 1924, and the wood was granted to the Knights Templars of St John of Jerusalem but later passed into the possession of the Hospitallers of the Order. This fashionable district of north-west London was first recorded as (Grete) St John’s Wood in 1558.

The Metropolitan Railway station opened as St John’s Wood Road on 13 April 1868; re-named St John’s Wood on 1 April 1925; and further re-named Lords on 11 June 1939. It was replaced together with Malrborough Road by a new St John’s Wood station on the Bakerloo Line which opened on 20 November 1939. The new station was  sited between the two closed stations and was originally planned to be named Acacia Road.

ST PAUL’S

St-Pauls

St Paul’s takes its name from the nearby Cathedral of the Diocese of London. The tradition that a Roman temple once stood here has no evidence to support it. There was, however, a Christian Church built here in the 7th century which was destroyed by fire in 1087. This is the third Cathedral built on the present site, and was planned by Sir Christopher Wren after the previous on had been destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666. Construction commenced in 1675 and was completed some 27 years later.

The station was originally to be named Newgate Street, but opened as Post Office on 30 July 1900, the General Post Office headquarters being closed by. The station was re-named St Paul’s on 1 February 1937.

SEVEN SISTERS

Seven-Sisters

Seven Sisters took its name from seven elm trees which stood near Page Green, where the Seven Sisters Road (built 1831–33) joint the old Ermine Street. They were marked as 7 Sesters in 1754 then Seven Sisters in 1805.

The station was opened as Seven Sisters on 1 September 1968.

SHEPHERD’S BUSH

Shepherds-Bush

Shepherd’s Bush either takes its name from the shepherds who used this place as a meadow or more likely from a personal name of someone so called. It was recorded as Sheppards Bush Green in 30 July 1900.

The Central London Railway Shepherd’s Bush Station was opened 30 July 1900.

SHEPHERD’S BUSH MARKET

Shepherds-Bush-Market

See Shepherd’s Bush. The market is on Underground-owned land and opened for business in 1914 when the station was re-sited on the north side of the Uxbridge Road.

The original station opened as Shepherd’s Bush on 13 June 1864, being re-named on 12 October 2008.

SLOANE SQUARE

Sloane-Square-2

Like many other street names in this part of London, the square is named in honour of Sir Hans Sloane (1660–1753) the physician and botanist who purchased the manor of Chelsea from the Cheyne family in 1712. In 1749 his great collection of books and curiosities formed the basis of the British Museum. Over the station, through a square iron conduit 15 feet above the platforms, passes the River Westbourne which eventually reaches the River Thames by Chelsea Bridge.

The station was opened as Sloane Square on 24 December 1868. It was severely damaged in an air raid on 12 November 1940; rebuilding after the Second World War was completed on 3 May 1951.

SNARESBROOK

Snaresbrook

Snaresbrook was so named in 1599 and takes its name from a nearby natural landmark. The name is derived from the Old English shear, ’swift’ and brook – ’the swift flowing brook’.

The station was built as Snaresbrook & Wanstead by the Eastern Counties Railway and opened on 22 August 1856. First used by Underground trains and re-named Snaresbrook on 14 December 1947.

SOUTH EALING

South-Ealing

See Ealing Broadway.

The station was opened as South Ealing on 1 May 1883.

SOUTHFIELDS

Southfiels

Southfields was recorded as Sutfield in 1247 and takes its name from a great field where farm produce was once sold.

The station opened as Southfields on 3 June 1889.

SOUTHGATE

Southgate

Southgate was such recorded in 1370 and was known as le Southgate in 1608. The hamlet here grew up at the south gate of Enfield Chase and is so named.

The name of Chase Side was considered but the station was opened as Southgate on 13 March 1933.

SOUTH HARROW

South-Harrow

See Harrow-on-the-Hill.

The station was opened as South Harrow on 28 June 1903. It was re-sited on 5 July 1935.

SOUTH KENSINGTON

South-Kensington

See Kensington (Olympia).

Prior to the station’s opening the name Cromwell Road was considered, but it opened as South Kensington on 24 December 1868, and the Piccadilly Line tube station on 8 January 1907.

SOUTH KENTON

South-Kenton

See Kenton.

The station was opened as South Kenton on 3 July 1933.

SOUTH RUISLIP

South-Ruislip

See Ruislip.

The station was opened on 21 November 1948. The station an the adjacent main line was opened by the Great Western & Great Central Joint Committee as Northolt Junction on 1 May 1908. It was re-named South Ruislip & Northolt Junction on 12 September 1932, and become South Ruislip on 30 June 1947.

SOUTHWARK

Southwark

Southwark lies on the south side of the Thames. A stone bridge was built here over the river, probably by the Romans soon after they landed in AD43. Called Suthriganawoerc in the 10th century – meaning ’fort of the men of Surrey’. It was recorded as Sudwerca in the Domesday Book – meaning ’southern defensive work or fort’, from the Old English suth and weorc.

The station opened as Southwark on 20 November 1999.

SOUTH WIMBLEDON

South-Wimbledon

See Wimbledon.

During planning of the station the name of Merton Grove was used, but it was opened as South Wimbledon on 13 September 1926 as it was thought advantageous to the Underground to show the station’s near connection to the somewhat better known Wimbledon.

SOUTH WOODFORD

South-Woodford

See Woodford.

The station was opened as George Lane on 22 August 1856 by the Eastern Counties Railway. It was re-named South Woodford (George Lane) on 5 July 1937, and South Woodford in 1950. First used by Underground trains on 14 December 1947.

STAMFORD BROOK

Stamford-Brook

Stamford Brook was recorded in 1650 and this was the name of the stream which divided, near its moth to the west, the parishes of Acton and Chiswick from Fulham, and further north was spanned by Bollo Bridge. The name is derived from a stony ford, once located here, where the main Great West Road crossed the stream.

The station was opened as Stamford Brook on 1 February 1912.

STANMORE

Stanmore

Stanmore was recorded Stanmere in the Domesday Book and is derived from the Old English stan, ’stony’ and mere, ’a pool’. There are outcrops of gravel on the clay soil here and the mere may have been one of the ponds which still exist. Known as Stanmore the Great in 1574 – ’the Great’ distinguished it from Whitchurch or Little Stanmore.

The station was opened as Stanmore on 10 December 1932.

STEPNEY GREEN

Stepney-Green

Stepney was recorded as Stybbanhype c. 1000 and as Stibenhede in the Domesday Book and the name is derived from the Saxon personal name Stebbing and the Old English hyo, ’hithe’ or ’landing place’. It has had various spellings in the course of time until recorded as Stepney in 1534. The Green is now a street and was the home of John atte Grene.

The station opened as Stepney Green on 23 June 1902.

STOCKWELL

Stockwell

Stockwell was recorded as Stokewell in 1188 and can be interpreted meaning – ’the stream with a footbridge consisting of a tree trunk’, referring to a natural location, which was once nearby. Derived from the Old English – stock (trunk) and wella (stream), Stockwell was a small rural village until the 1860s.

The station was opened as Stockwell on 18 December 1890.

STONEBRIDGE PARK

Stonebridge-Park

Where the Harrow Road crosses the River Brent stood a stone bridge, first recorded in 1745, that now gives its name to the district. It was recorded in 1875 that there was a cluster of 60 or 80 villas on nearby estate which was given the name Stonebridge Park.

The station was opened as Stonebridge Park by the London & North Western Railway on 15 June 1912 and first used by Underground trains on 16 April 1917.

STRATFORD

Stratford

Stratford was recorded in 1177 and is derived from the Old English straet, ’road’ and ford – and means ’the road with a ford’. The ford was where the Roman road to Colchester crossed one of the various branches of the River Lea.

The station was opened as Stratford on 4 December 1946. (The original Eastern Counties Railway station was opened on 10 June 1839.)

SUDBURY HILL

Sudbury-Hill

See Sudbury Town. The Hill is the high ground to the north of Sudbury.

The station was opened as Sudbury Hill on 28 June 1903.

SUDBURY TOWN

Sudbury-Town

Sudbury Town was recorded as Suthbury in 1282 and the name is derived from south and the Old English burh, ’manor’ – and means ’the south manor’, for it lies to the south-east of Harrow. The Town was built up during the later part of the 19th century.

The station opened as Sudbuty Town on 28 June 1903.

SWISS COTTAGE

Swiss-Cottage

Swiss Cottage takes its name from a famous public house. Here once stood an old toll gate keeper’s cottage, then later a chalet. The Swiss Tavern was built in 1803–04, the name being changed to Swiss Cottage at a later date. The building was reconstructed in 1965. Built to design of a Swiss cottage, it claims to be largest ’pub’ in London. When the railway was extended in 1868 to this part of north-west London, the name was taken for the station, and later for the district.

The Metropolitan Railway station was opened as Swiss Cottage on 13 April 1868 and closed as from 18 August 1940. The replacing tube station opened on 20 November 1939 on the Bakerloo Line Stanmore branch, which then became part of the Jubilee Line on 1 May 1979.

TEMPLE

Temple-2

The site of the Law Courts and London’s lawyers stands on land once owned by the Knights Templars, members of a military and religious Order founded in Jerusalem in about 1118. Their task was to protect the holy places and their name derives from the place where they have their quarters, near the site of Solomon’s Temple. The name Temple was also given to their quarters in London and Paris. The Pope dissolved the Order in 1312 and the buildings have been used by the legal profession from the 14th century.

Prior the station’s opening the name Norfolk Street was considered, but it was opened as Temple on 30 May 1870.

THEYDON BOIS

Theydon-Bois

Theydon Bois was known as Thayden de Bosco and held by Hugh de Bossco in 1240, but this family name seems to be of local and not French origin and is derived from the wood in Theydon. Theydon itself means, perhaps, ’a valley where thatch was obtained’.

The station was opened as Theydon by the Great Eastern Railway on 24 April 1865; re-named Theydon Bois on 1 December 1865. First used by Underground trains on 25 September 1949.

TOOTING BEC

Tooting-Bec

Tooting was recorded as Totinge in 675 and Totinge in the Domesday Book. From c. 1082 it comprised two manors – that of Upper Tooting and Tooting Bec, held in 1086 by the Abbey of St Mary of Bec in Normandy and Tooting Bec is so named. Tooting is derived from a personal name of the Saxon Tota and the Old English place name word ending ing, literally ’the people who lived at’ – Tooting, therefore means – ’the home of Tota’s people’. It is suggested that it should be also interpreted as ’people of the look-out place’ but this is doubtful as there is no hill in Tooting.

The station was opened as Trinity Road on 13 September 1926; re-named Tooting Bec 1 October 1950.

TOOTING BROADWAY

Tooting-Broadway

See Tooting Bec. The Broadway, once a large open space, is now a small triangular area near the station.

The station was opened as Tooting Broadway on 13 September 1926.

TOTTENHAM COURT ROAD

Tottenham-Court-Road

Tottenham Court Road was recorded as Tottenheale c. 1000 and is derived from the personal name of William de Tottenhall’s land and manor which, at the time of the Norman Conquest, belonged to the Deanery of St. Paul’s Cathedral. A later name was Totten Hall which lay at the north-west corner of the present road. There was an ancient court here, much of which was demolished in 1765 to make way for the Euston Road. By the 17th century the place had become a tea garden and public amusement centre. During the early 19th century the road was built up when Bloomsbury to the east was being developed, although much was reconstructed in the early 1900s.

The Central London Railway station was opened as Tottenham Court Road on 30 July 1900; the adjacent Charing Cross Euston & Hampstead Railway station was opened as Oxford Street on 22 June 1907 and re-named Tottenham Court Road on 9 March 1908 (see also Goodge Street).

TOTTENHAM HALE

Tottenham-Hale

Tottenham was recorded as Toteham in the Domesday Book and the name is derived from the personal name of Saxon Tottaand the Old English ham, ’a homestead’ – ’the home of Totta’ and his family who once lived on a site here. Hale is derived from the Old English healh, ’a corner of land’. It was recorded as le Hale in 1502 and was the home of Richard atte Hale in 1274.

The station was opened as Tottenham Hale on 1 September 1968.

TOTTERIDGE & WHETSTONE

TotteridgeWethstone

Totteridge was recorded as Taterugg in 1248 and is derived from the personal name of Saxon Totta and a ridge of a hill where he lived – and thus means ’Totta’s ridge’. Whetstone was recorded as Wheston in 1417 and means ’the stone quarry’. Tradition holds that there were once a large stone here on which the soldiers sharpened their steel before the battle of Barnet in 1471.

The station was opened as Totteridge by the Great Northern Railway on 1 April 1872 and was re-named Totteridge & Whetstone on 1 April 1874. It was first used by Underground trains on 14 April 1940.

TOWER HILL

Tower-Hill

Tower Hill was recorded as Tourhulle in 1343 and takes its name from the nearby Tower of London, notorious in history as the place of public execution of the traitors taken here from the Tower. 125 people are known to have died here between 1381–1745 and a slab nearby Trinity Square Gardens marks the scaffold site. At the foot of Tower Hill stands a new kiosk to that which from 1870–96 was the entrance to London’s first tube tunnel under the Thames.

Prior to the station’s opening the name of Seething Lane was considered, but it opened as Mark Lane on 6 October 1884 and re-named Tower Hill on 1 September 1946. It was re-sited on 5 February 1967 on the place where a station called Tower of London had been in use from 25 September 1882 to 12 October 1884.

TUFNELL PARK

Tufnell-Park

Tufnell Park was named in honour of William Tufnell who held the manor of Barnsbury in 1753. Tufnell Park Road runs to the east of the station, but there is no park in the area.

The station was opened as Tufnell Park on 22 June 1907.

TURNHAM GREEN

Turnham-Green

Turnham Green was recorded as Turneham in c. 1229 and was once a hamlet on the Great West Road. The name is derived from the Old English turn, ’circular’ and hamm, ’a water meadow’ – and means literally ’the bend at the river’ referring to the nearby River Thames. The Green was first recorded in 1396 where Christ Church now stands. Incidentally, it was here, during the Civil War, that King Charles’s troops were checked by the rebel Parliament’s Trained Bands of Londoners.

The station, which would more accurately be named Bedford Park, was opened as Turnham Green by the London & South Western Railway on 1 January 1869 and first used by Underground trains on 1 June 1877. The rebuilt station was opened on 3 December 1911.

TURNPIKE LANE

Turnpike-Lane

Turnpike Lane once belonged to the ’Stamford Hill and Green Lanes Turnpike Trust’ and a turnpike gate was erected in 1767 a the Hornsey Lane (now Tottenham Lane) end of the road; it was removed in the 1870s. A ’Turnpike’ was a gate set across a road to stop those who were liable to pay a toll. Originally this was a frame consisting of two crossbars armed with pikes and turning on a post – hence the name.

The names Duckets Green and Harringay were considered but the station was opened as Turnpike Lane on 19 September 1932.

Share This:

LONDON TUBE STATIONS 5, N-R

”Hi, my name is Francis. I am your travel guide to the roots of the London Underground and to the origins of the names of all stations currently in use. This is the fifth stage of our wonderful journey. Welcome aboard! Here are the stations from Naesden to Russell Square.”

NAESDEN

Neasted

Neaeden was recorded as Naesdun in 939 and the name is derived from the Old English naess, ’nose’ and dun, ’hill’ – it means ’the nose-shaped hill’ referring to well defined landmark of this area. It was known as Needsden in 1750, and the present spelling appeared at a later date.

The station was opened as Kingsbury & Neasden on 2 August 1880; re-named Neasden & Kingsbury on 1 January 1910 and Neasden on 1 January 1932.

NEWBURY PARK

Newbury-Park

Newbury Park was recorded in 1348 and is derived from new and the Old English burh, ’manor house’. It therefore means ’the (then) new manor’, in the park.

The station was opened as Newbury Park by the Great Eastern Railway on 1 May 1903 and was first used by Underground trains on 14 December 1947.

NORTH ACTON

North-Acton

See Acton Town.

The station was opened as North Acton on 5 November 1923. (There had been a Great Western Railway halt named North Acton, to the west of the present station, from 2 May 1904 to 31 January 1913.)

NORTH EALING

North-Ealing

See Ealing Broadway.

The station was opened as North Ealing on 23 June 1903.

NORTHFIELDS

Northfields

Northfields is a new district name preserving the old field-name Northfield which is self-explanatory, being recorded in 1455.

The station was opened as Northfield Halt on 16 April 1908; re-named Northfields & Little Ealing 11 December 1911; re-sited as Northfields, east of the old site, on 19 May 1932.

NORTH HARROW

North-Harrow

 

See Harrow-on-the-Hill.

The station was opened as North Harrow on 22 March 1932.

NORTH GREENWICH

North-Greenwich

Greenwich it seems was given its name by either the Saxon invaders of the sixth century who called it Green Village – from the Old English green and wic. Or maybe the invading Danes of the ninth century who called it the ’Green Reach’, the reach referring to the straight part of the River Thames on which Greenwich stands. It was recorded as Grenewc in 964 and Grenvtz in the Domesday Book (1086). The place of course is famous for being on ’0 degrees’ of longitude and therefore ’Standard Time’ for most countries of the World is based on ’Greenwich Time’.

The station was opened as North Greenwich on 14 May 1999.

NORTHOLT

Northolt

Northolt was recorded as nord healum in 960 and as Northala in the Domesday Book and the name is derived from the Old English nord, ’north’ and health, ’heath’ – it means ’the north heath’ or ’angle of land’ in contrast to Southall. Known as Northolt by 1610.

The station was opened for Underground trains as Northolt on 21 November 1948, replacing a halt of the same name, but on a different site, which had been opened by the Great Western Railway on 1 May 1907.

NORTH WEMBLEY

North-Wembley

See Wembley Central.

The station was opened as Wembley Central by the London & North Western Railway on 15 June 1912, and was first used by Underground trains on 16 April 1917.

NORTHWICK PARK

Northwick-Park

Northwick Park is a modern name and comes from the Northwick family, Lords of the Manor of Harrow in 1797.

The station opened as Northwick Park & Kenton on 28 June 1923; re-named Northwick Park on 15 March 1937.

NORTHWOOD

Northwood

Northwood was recorded as Northwode in 1435 and was originally the name of a Wood and farm lying to the north of Ruislip. The present town dates chiefly from the construction of the railway c. 1885.

The station was opened as Northwood on 1 September 1887.

NORTHWOOD HILLS

Northwood-Hill

See Northwood. The Hills refer to nearby high ground. The station may have its name as a result of a public competition sponsored by the Metropolitan Railway.

The station opened as Northwood Hills on 13 November 1933.

NOTTING HILL GATE

NottingHillGate

Notting Hill Gate was recorded as Knottynghull in 1356 but the origin of the name is in some doubt. It may be taken from the Old English cnotting, ’a hill’ or more probably it is the name (or nickname) for a family who settled in this area in early times, called Knottying. Recorded as Noding Hill in 1680 and with the present spelling at a later day. A gate formerly stood at the junction of Kensington Church Street and the main road and was removed in 1864.

The station was opened as Notting Hill Gate on 1 October 1868.

OAKWOOD

Oakwood

Oakwood takes its name from the nearby Oakwood Park, or possibly a large house which once stood here called Oak Lodge.

The names of East Barnet and Merryhills were considered but the station was opened as Enfield West on 13 March 1933; re-named Enfield West (Oakwood) on 3 May 1934, and Oakwood on 1 September 1946.

OLD STREET

Old-Street

Old Street was recorded as Ealdestrate c. 1200 and le Oldestrete in 1373. Originally from Roman Road, then the old highway from the Aldersgate to the north-east of England, before Bishopsgate was built.

The station was opened as Old Street on 17 November 1901.

OLYMPIA

Kensington-Olympia

See Kensington (Olympia).

OSTERLEY

Osterley

Osterley was recorded as Osterle in 1274 and the name is derived from either the Old English word eowestre, which can be interpreted as meaning ’sheepfold clearing’, being once pasture land, or the Old English ost, ’a knob of land’ and leah, ’a glide’, which can be interpreted as meaning ’a hillock’. Recorded as Austerley in 1609 and Osterley at a later day.

The station was opened as Osterley & Spring Grove on 1 May 1883. It was re-sited further west and the new station opened on 25 March 1934 as Osterley. The earlier station can still be seen.

OVAL

Oval

Oval is the famous ground of the Surrey County Cricket Club which was formed in 1884, the name Oval coming from the shape of the ground. The first piece of turf was laid in March 1845. The first cricket match was played on or about 13 May of that year, and the first Test match in England (v. Australia) in 1880.

Prior the station’s opening the name of Kennington Oval was considered, and may have been used for a short time after opening. Officially, the station was opened as Oval on 18 December 1890.

OXFORD CIRCUS

Oxford-Circus

Oxford Circus takes its name from Oxford Street of which it forms a part. This was the old road to Oxford in 1682, recorded as Oxford Road in 1720, and Oxford Street in 1725. The Circus was originally named Regent Circus until the late 19th century.

The station was opened as Oxford Circus on 30 July 1900.

PADDINGTON

Paddington2

Paddington was recorded as Padintune in 959 and the name is derived from the personal name of Saxon Padda and the Old English tun, ’a farm’ – it means ’the farm of Padda’, an Anglo Saxon chieftain. Recorded as Patyngton in 1398 and changed to Paddington in the course of time.

The Circle Line station (Opposite the Great Western Station Hotel) was opened as Paddington (Praed Street) on 1 October 1868; re-named Paddington 11 July 1948. The Hammersmith & City Line station (alongside the main line platform 12) was opened as Paddington (Bishop’s Road) on 10 January 1863; re-named Paddington on 10 September 1933. The Bakerloo Line station was opened as Paddington on 1 December 1913.

PARK ROYAL

Park-Royal

Park Royal was the grand name given to a piece of land where an unsuccessful attempt was made to establish a fixed ground for the Royal Agricultural Society Annual Show. Before the First World War the land was build over and the name became that of a district.

The station was opened as Park Royal & Twyford Abbey on 23 June 1903; re-sited on 6 July 1931 and re-named Park Royal.

PARSONS GREEN

Parsons-Green

As the name suggests, this was the hamlet which grew up round the parsonage house of Fulham, being recorded as Personesgrene in 1391. The Green is now a small triangular place of land on the edge of which stands the parish church.

The station was opened as Parsons Green on 1 March 1880.

PERIVALE

Perivale

This district was originally known as Greneford and is recorded as this in the Domesday Book, later to be known as Little Greenford (in 1386) a distinction from Greenford (or Great Greenford). The name was changed by 1508 to Pyryvale and is derived from Middle English perie, ’ a pear tree’ and Old French val, ’vale’ and means ’the valley with the pear trees’, which referred to a nearby meadow. Called Purevale in the late 16th century, it changed to the present spelling in the course of time.

The station was opened for Underground trains as Perivale on 30 June 1947. It replaced a Perivale Halt on the Great Western Railway opened on 2 May 1904.

PICCADILLY CIRCUS

Piccadilly-Circus

The name Piccadilly is probably derived from Pickadilly Hall, the popular name of a house built in c. 1611 near Windmill Street by a retired tailor, Robert Baker, who made much of his fortune by the sale of ’pickadillies’, a form of collar or ruff. The street was known as Portugal Street in 1692 in honour of Catharine of Braganza, the Queen of Charles II, but changed to Pickadilly Street by 1763. The Circus, built during the 19th century, covers the site of a house and garden belonging to a Lady Hutton; the garden was near a field known as the Round Ringill.

The station was opened as Piccadilly Circus on 10 March 1906. An extensively reconstructed station was opened on 10 December 1928.

PIMLICO

Pimlico

Pimlico is a comparatively new district of London, recorded as Pimplico in 1630. It seems that the name was copied from a garden of public entertainment in Hoxton (north London), named after its owner, a well known inn-keeper, Ben Pimlico, whose name was also given to his inn (late 16th century). There was once a Pimlico Walk in Hoxton. Pimlico, on the north bank of the Thames, was almost uninhabited before the 19th century.

The station was opened as Pimlico on 14 September 1972.

PINNER

Pinner

Pinner was recorded as Pinnora in 1232 and the name is derived from a personal name (or nickname) Pin (or Pinna), and the Old English ora, ’bank edge’ or ’slope’ – this refers to the original village street which slopes steeply up to the church from the Pinn River – and thus means ’the slope to Pinna’s place’. It is certain that the River Pinn take its name from the old village and not vice versa. It was recorded as Pynnor in 1483.

The station was opened as Pinner on 25 May 1885.

PLAISTOW

 

Plaistow

Plaistow was recorded as Plagestoue c. 1200 and was the ancient site of a Manor and a place of court meetings. It was also, on occasions, the place where ’miracle plays’ and similar entertainments were performed. The name is derived from the Old English pleg, ’sports’ or ’playing’ and stowe, ’place’ – and means, simply, ’the playing-place’.

The station was opened as Plaistow by the London, Tilbury & Southend Railway on 31 March 1858; first used by Underground trains on 2 June 1902.

PRESTON ROAD

Preston-Road

Preston Road was mentioned as Preston in 1994 and the name comes from the Old English preast, ’a priest’ and tun ’a farm’ – and means ’the farm belonging to priest(s)’. A priest is mentioned in the Domesday Book as holding land in the parish of Harrow, possibly at this location. The road was added to the name as the district grew in the course of time.

The station was opened as Preston Road halt on 21 May 1908; new station (re-sited) 22 November 1931.

PUTNEY BRIDGE

Putney-Bridge

Putney Bridge was recorded as Putelei in the Domesday Book and the name is derived from the Saxon personal name Puttan and the Old English hyp, ’a landing place’ – Puttans’s wharf. This was one of many such landing places on River Thames. The original wooden bridge was erected in 1729 and replaced by the present stone bridge in 1884–86. It was widened in 1933.

The station opened on 1 March 1880 as Putney Bridge & Fulham; re-named Putney Bridge & Hurlingham 1 September 1902; Putney Bridge 1932.

QUEENSBURY

Qeensbury

Queensbury really means ’a fortified place’ but do not look for the remains in this part of north-west London. When the new Metropolitan Line to Stanmore was opened on 10 December 1932, one station was called Kingsbury. Two years later, a further station was opened and the name Queensbury was invented for it.

The station was opened as Queensbury on 16 December 1934.

QUEEN’S PARK

Queens-Park

Queen’s Park was the name adopted for a housing estate by the park that was built from the late 1870s onwards. It was so named in honour of Queen Victoria.

The original London & Western Railway station was opened as Queen’s Park (West Kilburn) on 2 June 1879. The present station was opened as Queen’s Park for Underground trains on 11 February 1915.

QUEENSWAY

Queensway

Queensway, formerly called Black Line Lane, was named from the Public House once on the corner of the street. It was re-named in honour of Queen Victoria soon after she came to the throne in 1837. It is suggested that the reason was that, as a child, this was the place of Victoria’s favourite horse ride; she then lived only a half a mile away at Kensington Palace. It was at first called Queen’s Road, then Queensway from January 1938.

The station was opened as Queen’s Road on 30 July 1900; re-named Queensway 1 September 1946.

RAVENSCOURT PARK

Ravenscourt-Park

Ravenscourt Park was the manor granted to Alice Perrers, the notorious favourite of Edward III (reigned 1327–77). It was known as Palyngewyk in 1270 (later Padingwick) and 1819 a Raven’s Court House was recorded in the area, but the history of this modern name is unknown. The Park lies opposite the station along Paddenswick Road.

The station was opened as Shaftesbury Road by the London & South Western Railway on 1 April 1873. It was re-named Ravenscourt Park on 1 March 1888. First used by Underground trains on 1 June 1877.

RAYNERS LANE

Rayners-Lane

Rayners Lane was developed as a suburban residential area in the 1930s. The lane is named after Daniel Rayner, who owned a farm on it during the early days of the Metropolitan Railway.

The station was opened as Rayners Lane Halt on 26 May 1906.

REDBRIDGE

Redbridge

Redbridge takes its name from the bridge over the River Roding on what is now the Eastern Avenue just outside Wanstead. The old red bridge, first recorded in a map in 1746, was probably a century older; it has been replaced by a more modern one but the original bridge has given a name to a whole new London borough.

Prior to the opening of the station two other names, Ilford West and Red House were considered, but it opened as Redbridge on 14 December 1947.

REGENT’S PARK

Regents-Park

Regent’s Park, once Marylebone Park, was a Royal Hunting ground until the Interregnum, 1649. It reverted to the Crown in 1811 and was laid out afresh from 1812 onwards by John Nash for the Prince Regent, after whom it is named. At the same time Nash designed and built Regent Street as part of the ’Royal Mile’ connecting the park with the Prince’s house in St James’s. Roughly circular in shape, the Park covers an area of 472 acres and includes the famous London Zoo.

The station was opened as Regent’s Park on 10 March 1906.

RICHMOND

Richmond

Richmond was known as Shene (meaning Shelter) from c. 950 until 1502, when Henry VIII rebuilt the place here after it had been burnt down by fire a year earlier. He called it Richmond (or Richemount) after his earldom so named in Yorkshire. This, in its turn, originally came from a name of a place in France. So modern Richmond obtained its name in a roundabout way.

The original London & South Western Railway station was opened as Richmond on 27 July 1846. The terminal station platforms were opened by the LSWR for the use of their own service from Hammersmith on 1 January 1869 and North London Railway trains from Broad Street. District Railway trains began on 1 June 1877 and the Metropolitan Railway served it between 1 October 1877 and 31 December 1906.

RICKMANSWORTH

Ricksmansworth

Rickmansworth was recorded as Prichemareworde in the Domesday Book and the name derives from a personal name Ricmaer and the Old English worp, ’enclosure’. It seems that Ricmaer is a continental name and this person had recently come from Europe and settled here. There have been many changes of spelling including Rikmersworth in 1430, until the present spelling was adopted.

The station was opened as Rickmansworth on 1 September 1887.

RODING VALLEY

 

Roding-Valley

Roding Valley takes its name from the River Roding. The river, however, took its name from the village called Reding (or Roothing), which in turn came from the settlement of the people known as the Hroda, and was corrupted to Roding in the course of time. It was recorded as Rodon in 1576. The Valley as such is no more than a shallow dip at this point.

The station was opened by the London & North Eastern Railway as Roding Valley on 3 February 1936 and was first used by Underground trains on 21 November 1948.

ROYAL OAK

Royal-Oak

Royal Oak was the name of an old rural tavern, the entrance to which was by way of a wooden plank over the Westbourne River. This has now been replaced by the ’Railway Tap’ public house which contains much of interest for any railway enthusiast. The station and district now take their name from the old tavern.

The station was opened as Royal Oak on 30 October 1871.

RUISLIP

Ruislip

Ruislip was recorded as Rislepe in the Domesday Book and the name has one of London’s most curious origins derived from the Old English ryse, ’rush’ and hlype, ’leap’. It seems to refer to a spot where the little River Pinn could once be crossed. It has had various spellings until recorded as Ruislip in 1527.

The station was opened as Ruislip on 4 July 1904.

RUISLIP GARDENS

Ruislip-Gardens

See Ruislip. The Gardens were taken from the name of a nearby 1930s housing development.

The station opened as Ruislip Gardens on 21 November 1948.

RUISLIP MANOR

Ruislip-Manor

See Ruislip. Today near the River Pinn lies Manor farm. This, and its surroundings, once had a priory dependent of the Norman Abbey of Bec. During the wars with France the Manor was confiscated by the Crown and the priory was closed in 1414. The land was granted to the Earl of Bedford, then to King’s College, Cambridge, who still own the lordship of the manor.

The station was opened as Ruislip Manor halt on 5 August 1912.

RUSSELL SQUARE

Russell-Square

Russell Square was named in 1800 by an Act of Parliament and was built between 1801–05. It takes its name from the Dukes of Bedford whose family name is Russell; tey acquired lands in London in 1552 and later by marriage in 1669. The square was once part of an area known as Southampton Fields and later called Long Fields. The square was badly damaged during the Second World War, but has been redeveloped since to become the second largest square in London.

The station opened as Russell Square on 15 December 1906.

Share This:

LONDON TUBE STATIONS 4, I-M

”Hi, my name is Francis. I am your travel guide to the roots of the London Underground and to the origins of the names of all stations currently in use. This is the fourth stage of our journey. Have a seat and relax! Here are the stations from Ickenham Town to Mornington Crescent.”

ICKENHAM

Ickenham

Ickenham was recorded as Ticheha in the Domesday Book and is derived from the personal name of the Saxon Ticea (or Ica) and the Old English ham,’a home’ – and means ’the home of Ica’ and his family who once lived on a site here. Recorded as Ikenham in 1236.

The station was opened as Ickenham Halt on 25 September 1905.

KENNINGTON

Kennington

Kennington was recorded as Chenintune in the Domesday Book and is derived from the personal name of the Saxon Cena and the Old English tun, ’a farm’ – therefore it means ’the farm of Cena’, an early inhabitant of the area. It was recorded as Kenington in 1275.

Prior to the station’s opening the name of New Street was proposed, but it was opened as Kennington on 18 December 1890.

KENSAL GREEN

Kensal-Geen

Kensal Green was recorded as Kingisholte in 1255 and means the King’s Wood (King and Old English holt, ’a wood’) but just who the royal owner was is unknown. The Green is recorded in 1550 and lies just south of the station; it includes the Kensal Green Cemetery.

The station was opened as Kensal Green on 1 October 1916.

KENSINGTON (OLYMPIA)

Kensington-Olympia

Kensington Olympia is recorded as Cheninton in the Domesday Book and the name is derived from the personal name of the Saxon Cynesige and the Old English tun, ’a farm’ – it means ’the farm of Cynesige’, another local agriculturist. It has had many variant spellings, with Kenesingeton recorded in 1274. Olympia is the name of the huge exhibition building opened in 1886 and extended to the main road in 1930.

The station was opened by the West London Railway as Kensington on 27 May 1844; re-sited farther north 2 June 1862; re-named Kensington (Addison Road) in 1868; re-named Kensington (Olympia) 19 December 1946.

KENTISH TOWN

Kentish-Town

Kentish Town stands recorded as Kentisston in 1208 and the name seems to be derived from a farm held by someone nick-named le Kentiss(h) – and means Kentish Farm, but the real history of the name is, however, unknown. It was only coincidence that Charles Pratt, Earl Camden, obtained through his marriage the Manor of Kentish Town in 1791. He in fact took his name from Camden Place in Kent. The Town developed in the later part of the 18th century as an industrialized area of north west London.

The station was opened as Kentish Town on 22 June 1907.

KENTON

Kenton

Kenton was recorded as Keninton in 1232 and the name is derived from the personal name of the Saxon Coena and the Old English tun, ’a farm’ – and means ’the farm of Coena’ and his family who once lived on a site here (see the similarity with Kennington).

The station was opened as Kenton by the London & North Western Railway on 15 June 1912 and first used by Underground trains on 16 April 1917.

KEW GARDENS

Kew-Gardens

Kew Gardens, officially the Royal Botanic Gardens, were founded in 1759 by Princess Augusta (mother of George III) in the grounds of Kew House and Richmond Lodge. Kew House was demolished in 1802. Noted for its great variety of plants and wild-life, the gardens now cover 288 acres and were given to the nation by Queen Victoria 1841. Kew is the name of this district on the south bank of the Thames and its name is derived from the Middle English Key – meaning ’a quay or wharf’.

The station was opened as Kew Gardens by the London & South Western Railway on 1 January 1869 and first used by Underground trains on 1 June 1877.

KILBURN

Kilburn

Kilburn, recorded as Cuneburna in 1121, takes its name from a stream which rose in Hampstead and flowed across West London, finally joining the River Thames near Chelsea Bridge. Only parts of the stream are in existence today and it has other names in different locations. Where it once turned south to Kilburn High Road it was known as Kylbourne (1502). The name is derived from the Old English cyne-burna, ’royal stream’ or ’cows’ stream’. Although Cylla (a once local inhabitant of the area) has also been given as a possible derivation, the first definition seems correct.

The station was opened as Kilburn & Brondesbury on 24 November 1879; re-named Kilburn on 25 September 1950.

KILBURN PARK

Kilburn-Park

See Kilburn. The only remaining link with the Park today is the Kilburn Park Road to the south of the station.

The station was opened as Kilburn Park on 31 January 1915.

KINGSBURY

Kingsbury

Kingsbury was recorded as Kynges byrig in 1046 and as Chingesberie in the Domesday Book. The name is derived from Kings and the Old English burh, ’a fortified place’ and means the ’King’s manor or stronghold’. The manor was granted to Westminster Abbey by Edward the Confessor (reigned 1042–66) and the association of the area with a King goes back to at least 957, when the woodland in the parish was referred to as Kings Wood. It has had various spellings, being known as Kyngesbury in 1199.

The station was opened as Kingsbury on 10 December 1932.

KING’S CROSS ST PANCRAS

Kings-Cross

The district of north London now known as King’s Cross was originally called Battlebridge, traditionally the site of one of the battles between Boudicca (Boadicea), the British Queen of the Iceni, and the Romans about A.D. 59 or 61 at the bridge over the River Fleet. A corruption in the Cockney dialect of Bradeford (’broad ford – over the Holborn or Fleet River) was recorded in 1207. Later, however, the district took its present name from a statue of King George IV which stood from 1830–45 at the crossroads here. This name was generally in use when the then Great Northern Railway adopted it for its terminus in 1850. St Pancras was once a solitary village and later a manor granted by Ethelberg (reigned 860–866) to St Paul’s Cathedral. Recorded as Sanctum Panctatiú in the Domesday Book, the old village took its name from the church dedicated to the boy martyr St Pancras (Pancratius). Accordion to tradition this site is one of the first near London on which a church was built, but now the old church (much restored) lies nearly forgotten behind the Midland Railway main-line station named after it, which was opened in 1868. Tradition has it that the station is situated on part of Caesar’s camp dating from c. BC50.

The Metropolitan line station was opened on 10 January 1863 as King’s Cross; re-named as King’s Cross & St Pancras in 1927 and King’s Cross St Pancras in 1933. It was replaced by a new station farther west on 14 March 1941; this new station was adjacent to the tube stations for the Piccadilly Line (which was opened on 15 December 1906) and the Northern Line (opened on 12 May 1907). Building the Victoria Line involved extensive reconstruction, the present station being brought into use on 1 December 1968.

KNIGHTSBRIDGE

Knightsbridge

Knightsbridge was recorded as Cnihtebricge in 1046 and can be interpreted as meaning ’the bridge of the young men’. It appears that these men were responsible for the upkeep or the defence of the bridge over the Westbourne stream where it crossed the Great West Road. The street has had many variant spellings and was known as Knyghtesbrugg 1364. One story has it that this was the place where knights had their jousting tournaments in days gone by, but this should be taken with that often used ’pinch of salt’. The stream still flows under Albert Gate, Kightsbridge, but is now buried deep in a sewer pipe.

On early plans the station’s name was shown as Sloane Street, but it opened as Knightsbridge on 15 December 1906.

LADBROKE GROVE

Ladbroke-Grove

Richard Ladbrook owned the land here in 1624 and his family sold it for building purposes in 1845, giving their name to this long street running to the north of the station.

The station was opened as Notting Hill on 13 June 1864; re-named Notting Hill & Ladbroke Grove 1880; re-named Ladbroke Grove (North Kensington) on 1 June 1919 and Ladbroke Grove in 1938.

LAMBETH NORTH

Lambeth-North

The name Lambeth is a reminder of the days when ships from all parts of the world sailed into the hearth of London along the River Thames. Recorded in 1041 as Lambhyo and as Lanchei in the Domesday Book, it is derived from the Old English Lambe and hythe, ’a haven’ or ’port’ – and means ’the port where lambs or cattle are shipped’. The suggestion that the first element of the name is from the Old English lam ’dirt’ or ’mud’ can be discounted.

The station was opened as Kennington Road on 10 March 1906; re-named Westminster Bridge Road on 5 August 1906 and Lambeth North on 15 April 1917.

LANCASTER GATE

Lancaster-Road

Lancaster Gate is one of the gates into Hyde Park and could have received its name in honour of Queen Victoria, in her capacity as Duchess of Lancaster. A street of the same name, roughly opposite the gate was built in 1863–66.

Prior the station’s opening the name of Westbourne was proposed, but it opened as Lancaster Gate on 30 July 1900.

LATIMER ROAD

Latimer-Road

Edward Latymer, who died in 1626, bequeathed the land either side of the road to support the scholars of Latymer school in which he took an interest. The road runs north west of the station and ran closer to it prior to the building of Westway. What remains of its southern half is now named Freston Road.

The station was opened as Latimer Road on 16 December 1868.

LEICESTER SQUARE

Leicester-Square

In 1631 Robert Sidney, 2nd Earl of Leicester, later British Ambassador to France (1636–41), obtained a licence to build his London residence here at a place then known as Lammas Land. The square, which takes its name from the Earl, was laid out in 1665, being called Leicester Fields and later Square, being converted to a public garden in 1874. Leicester House was built on the north side in 1637, pulled down in 1790, rebuilt in the early 19th century and destroyed by fire in 1865.

On early plans the station’s name was shown as Cranbourn Street, but it opened as Leicester Square on 15 December 1906.

LEYTON

Leyton

Leyton was recorded as Lugetune c. 1050 and Leyton in 1226. It is derived from Lea (the river) and the Old English tun, ’a farm’ – and thus means ’the farm on the River Lea’. Lea is a Celtic name possibly meaning ’light river’ or ’sparkling stream’.

The station opened as Low Leyton by the Eastern Counties Railway on 22 August 1856; re-named Leyton on 1 January 1868. First used by Underground trains on 5 May 1947.

LEYTONSTONE

Leytonstone

Leytonstone has the same meaning as Leyton with the addition of the word ending, stone. Recorded as Leyton at(te) Stone in 1370, tradition explains that this spot is near Leyton and the High Stone, a boundary mark.

The station opened as Low Leytonstone by the Eastern Counties Railway on 22 August 1856 and was first used by Underground trains on 5 May 1947.

LIVERPOOL STREET

Liverpool-Street

In 1246, on the site now occupied by the station, a priory was erected (later to become the Bethlehem Hospital) which stood here until 1676 when it was removed to London Wall. In 1829 the street was widened and named in honour of Lord Liverpool, who was Prime Minister from 1812–27. The whole area was cleared after 1864 for the building and opening for local traffic of the Liverpool Street main-line station of the Great Eastern Railway in 1874. Metropolitan Line trains ran into it between 1 February and 11 July 1875.

The Metropolitan Railway station was opened as Bishopsgate on 12 July 1875 and re-named Liverpool Street on 1 November 1909. The Central Line reached Liverpool Street on 28 July 1912.

LONDON BRIDGE

London-Bridge-2

It is possible that there was a bridge not far east of the present one in the year 43 and there have been many bridges across the River Thames here in the course of history, the fifth and the latest one being opened in March 1973 and the old bridge being sold and re-erected stone by stone in Arizona. The poem which opens ’London Bridge is falling down’ refers to the battle in 1014 between King Aethelred of the English and the Danes, after which the bridge collapsed. London, recorded as Londonium c. 115 is a Celtic place-name probably formed a personal name Londinos – meaning ’the bold one’.

The Underground station was opened as London Bridge on 25 February 1900.

LOUGHTON

Loughton

Loughton, recorded as Lukintone in 1062 and as Lochetuna in the Domesday Book, is derived from the personal name of the Saxon Luhha (or Luea) and the Old English tun, ’a farm’ – it means ’the farm of Luhha’, an early local Essex inhabitant.

The original station was opened as Loughton by the Eastern Counties Railway on 22 August 1856. It was re-sited on 24 April 1865. A new station was opened on 28 April 1940 in readiness for Underground trains, which took over the service from British Railways (Eastern Region) on 21 November 1948.

MAIDA VALE

Maida-Vale

Maida Vale, though used as the name of a district, is really only a street name. It takes its name from Maida, a town in Calabria, Italy, where Sir John Stuart defeated the French in 1806. The street was mentioned in 1868, runs north to south and is, in fact, part of the Edgware Road.

Prior the station’s opening the name of Elgin Avenue was proposed, but it opened as Maida Vale on June 6 1915.

MANOR HOUSE

Manor-House

Close by the station stands the Manor House public house. Known as the ’Manor Tavern’ when it was built in c. 1820 as a stopping place for travellers between London and Cambridge, it was re-named in 1931 after a manor house situated opposite. At this time the public house was rebuilt and the house demolished to make way for St Olave’s Church.

The station was opened as Manor House on 19 September 1932.

MANSION HOUSE

Mansion-House

Mansion House has been the official residence of the Lord Mayer of London since 1753. The house was designed by George Dance and built in 1739–53 on the site of the old Stocks market and St Mary Woolchurch. The building received some damage in the Second World War. The City Police Court is in the same building.

The station was erected on the site of the Church of Holy Trinity the Less and later a Lutheran church.

The station was opened as Manor House on 3 July 1871.

MARBLE ARCH

Marble-Arc

Marble Arch was designed by Nash more or less after the ’Arch of Constantine’ in Rome and the building was originally erected in 1828 in front of Buckingham Palace. It was removed in 1850–51 to its present site where it was an entrance to Hyde Park until 1908. The arch is constructed of Carrara marble.

The station was opened as Marple Arch on 30 July 1900.

MARYLEBONE

Marylebone

Local feeling with regard to place names should always be taken into consideration, for there is a story regarding how Marylebone received its name. For countless years the place had been known as Tyburn (Tiburne in the Domesday Book) but the association with the tragic tree became too grim and so the local folk took a new name for their parish, being a dedication of the local Church of St Mary-by-the-Bourn, thus ’Tyburn’ became Maryburne and is so recorded in 1453. The le (by or near) was added later, the district being known as Mary le bone in 1746. Tyburn survived until the end of the 18th century with the Tyburn Tree, an execution place, near the present Marble Arch.

During the station’s planning it was referred to as either Marylebone or Lisbon Grove (where the entrance was), but it opened as Great Central (reflecting the ownership of the adjacent main line station) on 27 March 1907; re-named Marylebone on 15 April 1917.

MILE END

Mile-End

Mile End was recorded as La Mile ende in 1288. The then hamlet was so named because of its position on the old London–Colchester road at the distance of about one mile from Aldgate.

The station was opened as Mile end on 2 June 1902. It was rebuild and re-opened on 4 December 1946.

MILL HILL EAST

Mill-Hill-East

Mill Hill was recorded as Myllehill in 1547 and as the name suggest means ’the mill on the hill’. The original site, Mill Field, lies to the north of the present Mill Hill village but there is no evidence that a mill ever existed.

The station was opened as Mill Hill by the Great Northern Railway on 22 August 1867; re-named Mill Hill East on 1 March 1928. In readiness for its use by Underground trains, the committee of the New Works Programme 1935/40 suggested that a change of name to Bittacy Hill might avoid confusion with other Mill Hill stations. However, Mill Hill East remained when the station was first used by Underground trains on 18 May 1941 mainly to serve the nearby barracks.

MONUMENT

Monument

This well-known London landmark was erected during the 1670s and is a hollow column 62 meters high designed by Sir Christopher Wren and Robert Hooke. It commemorates the Great Fire of London in 1666 and the height of the monument is said to be the exact distance from the baker’s shop in nearby Pudding Lane where the fire started.

Prior to the station’s opening it was, for a time, referred as King William Street, but it was opened as Eastcheap on 6 October 1884 and re-named Monument on 1 November 1884.

MOORGATE

Moorgate

As the name suggests this was the site of one of the gates in the old City wall. The first Moor gate was cut into the wall in 1415 to give access to the moorland lying to the north of London. As the wall was crumbled during the 18th century the gate was demolished in 1760. The thoroughfare called Moorgate was built in 1846 and, in fact, runs from the site of this old gate.

The moor itself was virtually uninhabited and remained unused throughout the Middle Ages except by crowds of ice skaters who gathered in the winter months. As the area was built up over the years, the Moorfields became London’s first civic park and today places such as Finsbury Square and Finsbury Circus are part of the original Moor.

The station was opened as Moorgate Street on 23 December 1865 and re-named Moorgate on 24 October 1924. The Northern Line station, always called Moorgate, was opened on 25 February 1900.

MOOR PARK

Moor-Park

Moor Park was recorded as la More c. 1180 and the meaning is self-explanatory. The original site of the settlement was evidently a Moor Farm which once stood in the River Colne water meadows, near a tract of marshy land.

The station was opened as Sandy Lodge on 9 May 1910; r-named Moor Park & Sandy Lodge on 18 October 1923 and Moor Park on 25 September 1950.

MORDEN

Morden

Morden was recorded as Mordone in the Domesday Book and the name is derived from the Old English mor, ’a marsh’ and dun, ’a hill’ – it means ’marshy hill’ but the interpretation ’hill in the fens’ seems more correct. Morden occupies a hill overlooking lower grounds.

Before the station opened, the name North Morden was proposed, but it opened as Morden on 13 September 1926.

MORNINGTON CRESCENT

Mornington-Crescent

Mornington Crescent was begun in 1821 by Ferdinand, the second Lord Southampton, and is named after a famous connection of the family. For the Lord’s sister-in-law was Anne Wellesley, whose maiden name was Mornington, being the daughter of the Earl of Mornington and sister of the Duke of Wellington.

Prior to the station’s opening the name of Seymour Street was proposed, but it opened as Mornington Crescent on 22 June 1907. It was closed – originally intended to be permanently – on 23 October 1992, but re-opened following refurbishment on 27 April 1998.

Share This:

LONDON TUBE STATIONS 3, F-H

”Hi, my name is Francis. I am your travel guide to the roots of the London Underground and to the origins of the names of all stations currently in use. This is the third stake of our journey. Relax and welcome! Here are the stations from Fairlop to Hyde Park Corner.”

FAIRLOP

Fairlop

A legend surrounds the name of Fairlop. In the early part of the 19th century there was a fine oak tree here, which sheltered a long-established fair founded by a certain Daniel Day. When Day died in 1767, his friends, after much consideration, decided to make his coffin from the tree and as the tree continued to flourish, they agreed that they had made a fair lop. A little fanciful perhaps, but the name is derived from fair and the Modern English lop, ’a small branch or twig’, and means ’the beautiful trees with their leafy branches’ which stood nearby.

The station was opened as Fairlop by the Great Eastern Railway on 1 May and first used by Underground trains on 31 May 1948.

FARRINGDON

Farrington

This part of central London takes its name from Farrington Street. In 1279 the City merchant William de Farindon of Goldsmisth’s Company purchased the ’ward’ of this area and became an Alderman of it two years later; the street was named in his honour. The street was built in 1738 upon arches, above the old River Fleet which is now a sewer.

The station was opened on 10 January 1863 as Farringdon Street; renamed Farringdon & High Holborn 26 January 1922; became Farringdon on 21 April 1936.

FINCHLEY CENTRAL

Fichley-Central

Finchley Central was recorded as Finchelee-leya c. 1208 and it is possible that the name is derived from what can be interpreted as a finch clearing (meaning the bird) and the Old English leah, ’a forest’ – ’the clearing in the forest with the finches’. More likely the word is from a personal name, Finc – meaning ’Finc’s Forest’. The name has many spellings and was recorded as Fyncheley in 1547.

The station was opened by the Great Northern Railway as Finchley & Hendon on 22 August 1867; it became Finchley (Church End) on 1 February 1894 and Finchley Central on 1 April 1940. It was first used by Underground trains on 14 April 1940.

FINCHLEY ROAD

Finchley-Road

In 1827 an Act of Parliament was passed to build a new road out of London to Barnet, to avoid the hills of Hampstead and Highgate. This road was planned by way of Finchley – hence the name.

The station was opened as Finchley Road on 30 June 1879.

FINSBURY PARK

Finsbury-Park

Finsbury Park is on the site of the earlier Hornsey Wood. The Park, opened in 1869, was so called because the inhabitants within the old Parliamentary borough of Finsbury initiated a movement for its acquisition, which all seems very curious since it is far from Finsbury, which is near central London. Finsbury itself was recorded as Vinisbir in 1231 and this is the most likely to have been derived from an Anglo-Scandinavian name Fin, and the Old English burgh, ’manor’ – and thus means ’Fin’s Manor’. It was recorded as Fenusbury in 1535.

The station was opened by the Great Northern Railway as Seven Sisters Road on 1 July 1861. It was re-named Finsbury Park in 1869 and first served by the Piccadilly Line on 15 December 1906.

FULHAM BROADWAY

Fulham-Broadway

The manor of Fulanham is recorded as early as 691. There has been much speculation about the origin of the name, two explanations being foul-town on account of its muddy ways near the river, or fowl-ham – being the haunt of wild-fowl. Both of these explanations can now be discounted. It is more likely that Fulham is derived from the personal name Fulla and the Old English hamm, ’a water meadow’, being descriptive of the low-lying bend in the River Thames at this point – ’The Meadow where Fulla lives’, referring to an early Saxon and his family. It has had many changes in spelling and was recorded as Fullam in 1533.

The station was opened as Walham Green on 1 March 1880; re-named Fulham Broadway 2 March 1952.

GANTS HILL

Gants-Hill

Gants Hill was recorded as Gantesgave in 1291 and the name may well be associated with the family on Richard le Gant.

At the planning stage of the New Works Programme 1935/40, the station was referred to as Ilford North, Cranbrook was suggested as an alternative, as was Gants Hill which was not liked by the New Works Committee. However, the station opened as Gants Hill on 14 December 1947.

GLOUCESTER ROAD

Gloucester-Road

Gloucester Road was known as ’Hog moore lane’ as late as 1858 and at this time was probably descriptive of a muddy tract. Was re-named in the early 19th century after Maria, Duchess of Gloucester, who lived in the road at the turn of the century.

The station was opened as Brompton (Gloucester Road) on 1 October 1868; re-named Gloucester Road 1907.

GOLDERS GREEN

Golders-Green

Golders Green was recorded in 1612 and Golder seems clearly to refer to a personal name although no such recorded name has been noted in the early history of the parish. It seems that the name should be associated with John le Godere in 1321 and John Godyer of Hendon in 1371 and it may well be that Golders is a corruption of the later name. It is also suggested that Godyer was an obscure farmer who in fact sold his property and left the district. The Green was once part of the fields of Middlesex, which remained rural until the arrival of the railway.

The station opened as Golders Green on 22 June 1907.

GOLDHAWK ROAD

 

Goldhawk-Road

Goldhawk Road was Gould Hawk Lane in 1813 and maybe the road should be associated with a family named Goldhawk(e) of the 15th century, for the name is frequently mentioned in ’Court Rolls’ of this time. There was also a Goldhauek living in nearby Chiswick as early as 1222.

The station was opened as Goldhawk Road on 1 April 1914.

GOODGE STREET

Goodge-Street

Goodge Street was once called ’Crab tree field’, being a meadow belonging to a widow named Mrs Bedford who married a Marylebone carpenter, John Goodge c. 1718. When the street was built c. 1770 the name was taken from William and Francis Goodge who then owned the site.

The station was opened as Tottenham Court Road on 22 June 1907; re-named Goodge Street 9 March 1908.

GRANHE HILL

Grange-Hill

The Grange was one of the manors originally belonging to Tilty Priory. After the dissolution of the monasteries it was granted in 1537 to Thomas Adlington. It changed hands many times until the manor was as an endowment to Brentwood Grammar School in 1558. The School retained the property until the late 19th century when the land was sold and the building demolished. The Hill is the road at the front of the station.

The station was opened as Grange Hill by the Great Eastern Railway on 1 May 1903 and was first used by Underground trains on 21 November 1948.

GREAT PORTLAND STREET

Great-Portland-Street

In 1710 the manor of Marylebone was bought by the Duke of Newcastle, but by 1734 it passed to the Second Duke of Portland. When the street was built in the late 18th century it was so named in honour of the Duke, the northern part being known as Portland Road, which was recorded in 1793. The prefix Great does not indicate the importance of the street itself but that there are smaller streets of the same name in the neighbourhood.

The station was opened as Portland Road on 10 January 1863 and re-named Great Portland Street 1 March 1917.

GREENFORD

Greenford

Greenford was recorded as grenan forda in 875 and as Greneford in the Domesday Book. As the name suggest, it refers to a ford, which was a crossing place over the River Brent which led to a green.

The station was opened as Greenford by the Great Western Railway on 1 October 1904. A new station for Underground trains was opened on 30 June 1947.

GREEN PARK

Green-Park

Green Park was created in 1668 and extends north from the Mall and Constitution Hill to Piccadilly. It is 53 acres in size and triangular in shape. Originally added to the Royal Parks by Charles II, it replaced St James’s Park as the fashionable resort of society. Reduced in size by George III in 1767 to enlarge the gardens of Buckingham Palace, it was then known occasionally as Upper St James’s Park. The name seems to have been derived from the grass that ’grew all around’.

The station was named as Dover Street on 15 December 1906 and re-named Green Park with a re-sited entrance in Piccadilly and next to the park 18 September 1933.

GUNNERSBURY

Gunnersbury

Tradition has it that on a site near here stood the dwelling of Gunhilda (or Gunyld) the niece of the Danish King Canute (reigned 1016–35) but this seems to rest on unsupported evidence. Recorded as Gounyldebury in 1334 its name seems to be derived, nevertheless, from a female name of Scandinavian origin – Gunnhild’s (or variations) and the Old English burh, ’a manor’. It was recorded as Gunsbury in c. 1651.

The station was opened by the London & South Western Railway as Brentford Road on 1 January 1869 and re-named Gunnersbury on 1 November 1871. First used by Underground District and Metropolitan trains on June 1877, the Metropolitan Railway’s trains until 31 December 1906.

HAINAULT

Hainault

Hainault is not French origin as it may seem, but is a corruption of the earlier name Hyneholt. In this turn this is derived from the Old English hiwan, ’a household’ and holt, ’a wood’ (or hale ’ a nook of land’) – means ’the household on the land with a wood’. The household probably refers to a local religious community. The modern spelling seems to arise from a fictitious connection with a Philippa of Hainault.

The station was opened as Hainault by the Great Eastern Railway 0n 1 May 1903. First used by Underground trains (after reconstruction) on 31 May 1948.

HAMMERSMITH

Hammersmith

Hammersmith was recorded as Hammersmyth in 1294 and was a hamlet within Fulham until 1834. The origin of the name is in doubt. Some suggest that it is derived from Old English ham, ’a home’ or ’town’ and hythe, ’a port’ – ’the home by the port’, referring to its location on the Thames. More likely it comes from (again Old English) hamor, ’hammer’ and smydde, ’a smithy’ – referring to a local blacksmith who once lived here. It was recorded as Hammersmith in 1675.

The Hammersmith & City Line station was opened as Hammersmith on 13 June 1864, and re-sited farther south on 1 December 1868. The District Line station was opened as Hammersmith on 9 September 1874.

HAMPSTEAD

Hampstead

Hampstead is a name simply meaning being derived from Old English ham, ’a home’ and stede, ’a site’ – meaning, literally ’the home-site’, and probably refers to a farm-site. Recorded as Hemstede in the 10th century and Hamstede in the Domesday Book.

Prior the station’s opening the name Heath Street was proposed, but the station opened as Hampstead on 22 June 1907.

HANGER LANE

Hanger-Lane

Hanger Lane was named Hanger Hill in 1710 and marks the site of wood recorded as le Hangrewode in 1393 and is derived from the Old English hangra ’a wooded hill’, with clinging steep slopes, later changed to Lane.

The station was opened as Hanger Lane on 30 June 1947.

HARLESDEN

Harlesden

Harlesden was recorded as Herulvestune in the Domesday Book and comes from the personal name of the Saxon Heoruwulf (or Herewuff) and Old English tun, ’a farm’ – means ’Heoruwulf’s farm’, being on the site where he and his family once lived. It was recorded as Herlesdon in 1291.

The station was opened as Harlesden by the London & North Western Railway on 15 June 1912 and first used by Underground trains on 16 April 1917.

HARROW & WEALDSTONE

HarrowWeldstow

See Harrow-on-the hill for Harrow. Wealdstone was Weald Stone in 1754 and the name probably derives from the Old English weald, ’a forest’, indicating that the land here was once covered by the heavy Middlesex woodlands, and a ’boundary stone’. A ’stone’, three feet tall, still stands outside the ’Wealdstone Inn’ but it is doubtful if this is the original one. We may assume that Wealdstone means ’the boundary stone in the forest’. The growth of this place dates from the opening of the London & Birmingham Railway.

The station was opened by the London & Birmingham Railway as Harrow on 20 July 1837. It was re-named Harrow & Wealdstone on 1 May 1897 and first used by Underground trains on 16 April 1917.

HARROW-ON-THE-HILL

Harrow-on-the-Hill

The history of Harrow reminds us of the times before Christianity ousted paganism from England, for the name is derived from the Old English hearg, ’heathen temple or shrine’. Harrow is a prominent isolated hill rising about 300 feet above the Middlesex plain and here, perhaps on the site of the present church, must have stood a temple (or idol) of ancient heathen worship. It was recorded as Hergas in 832 and Herges in the Domesday Book but had changed to Harowe by 1369. There is an earlier name referring to Gumeninga; this may be tribal people who were pagans, but nothing is really known. Harrow is famous for its public school.

The station was opened as Harrow on 2 August 1880, and re-named Harrow-on-the-Hill on 1 June 1894.

HATTON CROSS

Hatton-Cross

Hatton Cross was recorded as Hatone in 1230 and is derived from the Old English haep, ’heath’ and tun, ’a farm’ – and means ’the farm on the heath’.  The cross may have some reference to an old bouldary mark, but more convincingly a reference to the road junction.

The station was opened as Hatton Cross on 19 July 1975.

HEATHROW (TERMINALS 1,2,3, TERMINAL 4 and TERMINAL 5)

Heathrow-Terminal-123

Heathrow-Terminal-4

Heathrow-Terminal-5

Heathrow was recorded as Hetherewe in 1547 and was, perhaps, the home of John atte Hethe who lived there in the 14th century. The name is probably derived from the Old English heap, ’heath’ and raew, ’row’ – ’the row of houses in the heath’. Alternatively, the second half of the name may derive from the Old English word ruh which means ’rough or uncultivated ground’, and perhaps Heathrow was originally ’the rough heath’. It now houses one of the world’s busiest airport.

Heathrow terminals 1,2,3 was opened as Heathrow Central on 16 December 1976, which was changed to Heathrow Central Terminals 1,2,3 on 3 October 1983 and gained its present name on 12 April 1986. Heathrow Terminal 4 station was opened on 12 April 1986.

Heathrow Terminal 5, opened 27 March 2008, is the only Underground station owned by BAA, the airport company.

HENDON CENTRAL

Hendon-Central

Hendon was recorded as Hendun c. 959 and as Handone in the Domesday Book. The name is derived from the Old English haeh, ’high’ and dun, ’down or hill’ – and means ’at the high hill’, referring to the old village of Hendon clustered round the church of St Mary, atop a high hill.

The station was opened as Hendon Central on 19 November 1923.

HIGH BARNET

High-Barnet

High Barnet was recorded as Barneto c. 1070 and as la Bernet in 1235 and is derived from the Old English baernet – ’a place cleared by burning’ – or bernette,  a French word for slope – i.e. Barnet Hill. Ground was cleared this way by early settlers. High refers to its geographical location.

The station was opened as High Barnet by the Great Northern Railway on 1 April 1872 and first used by Underground trains on 14 April 1940.

HIGHBURY & ISLINGTON

HighburyIslington-2

Originally Highbury was a summer camp of the Romans and during the 13th century the Priory of St John on Jerusalem had a manor here that was destroyed in 1381. Recorded as Heybury during the 14th century, the name is derived from high and the Old English burh, ’the manor on high ground’, as opposed to nearby Canonbury and Barnsbury which stand lower ground. Islington, recorded as Gislandune c. 1000 and Isendone in the Domsday Book, is derived from: 1. the personal name Gisla and the Old English dun, ’hill or down’ – ’Gisla’s hill’ referring to a Saxon and his family who once lived on a site here, or 2. the Old English Gisel, ’a hostage’ and dun, ’hill’ – indicating that hostages were once held here, or 3. Old English Isel, ’lower’ and don – which can be interpreted as meaning ’a fortified enclosure’. It was recorded as Islyndon in 1554.

The station was opened as Highbury on 28 June 1904 and re-named Highbury & Islington on 20 July 1922.

HIGHGATE

Highgate

From very early times tolls were collected from travellers who used the Bishop of London’s road across his park at Hornsey which led to Finchley. This was at the High Gate (Le Heghgate recorded in 1354) which gave its name to the hamlet and later village at one of the highest points in London.

The station was opened as Highgate by the Great Northern Railway on 22 August 1867, and first used by Underground trains on 19 January 1941. (See also Archway.)

HIGH STREET KENSINGTON

High-Street-Kensington

For centuries two roads, both Roman in origin, one following the lines of the High Street, were the only means of east-west communication in this part of London. The first building in the vicinity took place during the reign of Charles II (1660–85) to the south of the present street, while the north side was built up during the 1780s. More development took place in the early 19th century, followed shortly afterwards by the arrival of the famous shops of the street.

Prior the station’s opening it was often referred to as Kensington, but it was opened as High Street Kensington on 1 October 1868. (See also Kensington Olympia.)

HILLINGDON

Hillington

Hillingdon was recorded as Hildendun in 1078 and the name is derived from the personal name Hilda and the Old English dun, ’hill’ – and thus means ’Hilda’s Hill’ referring to a Saxon family who once lived here. It was recorded as Hilendon in 1254.

The station was opened as Hillingdon on 10 December 1923.

HOLBORN

Holborn

Holborn was recorded as Holeburne in 951 and takes its name from part of the River Fleet. It is derived from the Old English holh, ’a hollow’ and burna, ’a steam’ – means ’the steam (or brook) in the hollow’. The hollow is the valley now spanned by Holborn Viaduct. Kingsway is the street that runs from Holborn station to Aldwych, and was begun in 1901 to clear the slums of this area. It was opened by Edward VII in 1905. There was some controversy over the choice of name but finally Kingsway was chosen, no doubt for patriotic reasons.

The station was opened as Holborn on 15 December 1906 for the Piccadilly line. The Central Line platforms (replacing British Museum station) were opened on 25 September 1933.

HOLLAND PARK

Holland-Park

In the park is Holland House, a historic Jacobean mansion begun in 1605 and attributed to John Thorpe, which was originally called Cope’s Castle as it was built for Sir Walter Cope. The house passed by marriage to Sir Henry Rich, who was created Earl of Holland in Lincolnshire in 1624, and who gave his name to the house and park. The whole estate was sold to the London County Council in 1952.

Prior the station’s opening the name of Lansdown Road was considered, but it opened as Holland Park on 30 July 1900.

HOLLOWAY ROAD

Holloway-Road

Holloway Roan is a common road name and as it may suggest means ’the way in the hollow’. The road name later became the name of the district. The hollow refers to the fact that the hamlets of this area were situated on rather low-lying ground between Highgate and Islington; called le Holeweye in 1307.

Early plans show the station’s name as plain Holloway, but it was opened as Holloway Road on 15 December 1906.

HORNCHURCH

Horchurch

From ancient records there is a reference (in 1222) to the horned church (or monastery) in this district. Nothing of the monks’ first church survives today, but the present building contains a bull’s head and horns affixed to the east end, which has been since at least 1610. The reason for this is rather obscure. It is possible that it could be a reference to a seal of a French monastery or that it could be a reference to the tanning industry which once flourished in this area.

The station was opened as Hornchurch by the London, Tilbury & Southend Railway on 1 May 1885, and was first used by Underground trains on 2 June 1902.

HOUNSLOW CENTRAL

Hounslow-Central

Hounslow was recorded as Honeslaw in the Domesday Book and is derived from the Old English personal name Hund and hlaw, ’a hill’ – means ’the hill where Hund lived’. It has no connection with dogs (unlike Houndsditch) as the name may suggest. It was recorded as Haunslawe in 1252.

The station was opened as Heston Hounslow on 1 April 1886; second station opened 19 October 1912; re-named Hounslow Central 1 December 1925.

HOUNSLOW EAST

Hounlow-East

See Hounslow Central.

The first station (on a spur line) was opened on 1 May 1883 as Hounslow; re-named Hounslow Town in 1884. It was closed on 31 March 1886; re-opened an 1 March 1903, and finally closed on 1 May 1909. A new station (on the main line) was opened on 2 May 1909 and re-named Hounslow East 1 December 1925.

HOUNSLOW WEST

Hounslow-West

See Hounslow Central.

The station was opened as Hounslow Barracks 21 July 1884; re-named Hounslow West 1 December 1925. The new station opened 11 December 1926.

HYDE PARK CORNER

Hude-Park-Corner

A name that occurs frequently both in the Domesday Book and in place-names is hide, which has been described as ’a piece of ground sufficiently large and fertile to maintain an ordinary household’. Hyde Park was name after a hide of land belonging to the Manor of Ebury, for at about the time of the Domesday Book the manor was divided into three smaller parts, one being called Hyde. From the time of the Norman Conquest until the Dissolution (1066–1536) the Hyde was in the possession of Westminster Abbey. It was then taken by Henry VIII and converted into a royal deer-park. In 1635 Charles I opened it to the public. The Corner was the entrance to London until 1825 when the turnpike was removed. It now consists of an triangular space, enlarged in 1888 when a portion of nearby Green Park was taken for the roadway.

The station was opened as Hyde Park Corner on 15 December 1906.

Share This: